Four Upcoming Fall Debuts You’ll Fall in Love with Too by Taylor Tracy

Every fall brings a whole new pile of new releases to read and love, not unlike the leaves that will fall from the trees here in Jersey. I’ve gotten the chance to read quite a few of these upcoming gems recently (which are also ALL debuts and so doubly need your support and money) and want to share four of them that should be in your online baskets to pre-order immediately. There’s something for everyone, too, whether you’re a hardcore SFF fan or are looking for something more contemporary.

Continue reading “Four Upcoming Fall Debuts You’ll Fall in Love with Too by Taylor Tracy”

Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

Couple leaning on brick wall

Title: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Author: Jacqueline Firkins
Release Date: December 17, 2019
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins”

Novel Aesthetics: Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley

With the sequel releasing in a couple weeks I finally took the time to read Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley and WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG?! This book was fun and emotional and pure magic. I instantly fell in love with each character except for that one (if you’ve read it you’ll know) and I read the entire thing in about two and a half hours. It was that good.

So many elements of this story stuck out to me and it’s a very visual novel so I thought I would make an aesthetic for it!

Continue reading “Novel Aesthetics: Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley”

Review: Aphrodite Made Me Do It by Trista Mateer

Title: Aphrodite Made Me Do It
Author: Trista Mateer
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing
Pages: 224

Content Warnings: body image, sexual assault, rape, eating disorders, queerphobia, emotional abuse, physical abuse, gore, blood, death, fire

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Bestselling and award-winning author Trista Mateer takes an imaginative approach to self-care in this new poetry and prose collection, Aphrodite Made Me Do It. In this empowering retelling, she uses the mythology of the goddess to weave a common thread through the past and present.By the end of this book, Aphrodite make you believe in the possibility of your own healing.

Continue reading “Review: Aphrodite Made Me Do It by Trista Mateer”

Review: Watches and Warnings by Ryan Wolf

Title: Watches and Warnings
Author: Ryan Wolf
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Publisher: West 44 Books
Pages: 200

Content Warnings: tornado, self-harm, suicide attempt, drug addiction, overdose, underage drinking, car accident, descriptions of injuries, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Sixteen-year-old Philip is the son of two Evangelical youth pastors. He also secretly helps his older brother pay for his heroin addiction. When a massive tornado touches down in their small town, Philip’s family becomes heavily involved in the post-disaster cleanup as Philip struggles with the return of his detoxing brother. With his life swept into sudden chaos, Philip grapples with questions that cut him to the core.

Continue reading “Review: Watches and Warnings by Ryan Wolf”

Eight Things You Need to Pack Ahead of a Tornado

When I first heard of Natalie Lund’s debut, We Speak in Storms, I knew it was going to be a book I had to read. As somebody that has lived in tornado alley their entire life you’d think that I would be completely used to these monstrous storms by now – but I’m not. They actually terrify me. But even though tornadoes are one of my biggest fears I still love reading stories that involve them.

Because of my fear, I always make sure that I’m as prepared as possible when I know one is heading my way. Part of that preparedness is making sure my emergency bag is ready. What do I pack in that bag? Keep reading to find out!

Continue reading “Eight Things You Need to Pack Ahead of a Tornado”

Review: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer

Title: The Speed of Falling Objects
Author: Nancy Richardson Fischer
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: plane crash, blood, bullying, pig dissection, graphic descriptions of injuries, death of parents, drug addiction, explanation of medical procedures, panic attacks, self-harm, emotional abuse, suicide attempt

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the author of When Elephants Fly comes an exceptional new novel about falling down, risking everything and embracing what makes us unique. Don’t miss this compulsively readable novel about the most unlikely of heroes.

Danger “Danny” Danielle Warren is no stranger to falling. After losing an eye in a childhood accident, she had to relearn her perception of movement and space. Now Danny keeps her head down, studies hard, and works to fulfill everyone else’s needs. She’s certain that her mom’s bitterness and her TV star father’s absence are her fault. If only she were more―more athletic, charismatic, attractive―life would be perfect.

Continue reading “Review: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer”