Do I Have That Book? Tag

This has probably been the tag I’ve had the most fun with so far! It’s actually more of a challenge or scavenger hunt, though, and it’s definitely the one that’s been the most stressful. I pretty much forgot about every single book I owned while trying to complete it.

Nobody specifically challenged me to do this, but I saw Tracy from Cornerfolds do it and thought it looked like so much fun! Thanks, Keeping Tabs, for originally making this!

Rules

  • Time yourself trying to find each prompt on your shelf.
  • Try and beat the time of the person who challenged you.
  • Don’t forget to tag your challenger and the original creator.
Continue reading “Do I Have That Book? Tag”

Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

Title: Something Like Gravity
Author: Amber Smith
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 400

Content Warnings: homophobia, transphobia, assault, death of a sibling, panic attacks

Does the dog die? Yes

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

Continue reading “Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith”

Excerpt and Giveaway: Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein

Title: Screen Queens
Author: Lori Goldstein
Release Date: June 11, 2019
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 368

Content Warnings: underage drinking, attempted assault, panic attacks

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

The Bold Type meets The Social Network when three girls vying for prestigious summer internships through a startup incubator program uncover the truth about what it means to succeed in the male-dominated world of tech.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Continue reading “Excerpt and Giveaway: Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein”

Little Free Library Adventures Part Two

Welcome to part two of my little free library adventures! In this post I’ll be talking about the next little free libraries my husband and I visited. I did realize, though, while I was writing this post that I never explained what these libraries were in part one of this series, so keep reading to learn what they are before continuing with my adventures!

Little Free Library is a nonprofit organization with the goal of getting books into the hands of readers while building their communities. Millions of books are exchanged each year through these libraries. People of all ages that may not otherwise have access to reading material are able to find books for free within their own neighborhoods. How they work is those with extra books drop them off at one of the libraries and anybody else can come and find something to read.

Continue reading “Little Free Library Adventures Part Two”

Review: Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan

Title: Hot Dog Girl
Author: Jennifer Dugan
Release Date: April 30, 2019
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 309

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

Elouise (Lou) Parker is determined to have the absolute best, most impossibly epic summer of her life. There are just a few things standing in her way:

* She’s landed a job at Magic Castle Playland . . . as a giant dancing hot dog.

* Her crush, the dreamy Diving Pirate Nick, already has a girlfriend, who is literally the Princess of the park. But Lou’s never liked anyone, guy or otherwise, this much before, and now she wants a chance at her own happily ever after.

* Her best friend, Seeley, the carousel operator, who’s always been up for anything, suddenly isn’t when it comes to Lou’s quest to set her up with the perfect girl or Lou’s scheme to get close to Nick.

* And it turns out that this will be their last summer at Magic Castle Playland–ever–unless she can find a way to stop it from closing.

Continue reading “Review: Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan”

Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia

Title: Teen Titans: Raven
Series: Teen Titans
Author: Kami Garcia
Release Date: July 2, 2019
Publisher: DC Ink
Pages: 192

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

When a tragic accident takes the life of seventeen-year-old Raven Roth’s foster mom–and Raven’s memory–she moves to New Orleans to live with her foster mother’s family and finish her senior year of high school.

Starting over isn’t easy. Raven remembers how to solve math equations and make pasta, but she can’t remember her favorite song or who she was before the accident. When strange things start happening–impossible things–Raven starts to think it might be better not to know who she was in her previous life.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia”

Ten of My Most Anticipated Releases from the Second Half of 2019

There are some really great sounding books coming out during the second half of the year! Here are ten that I’m looking forward to the most.

We Are the Ghosts by Vicky Skinner (8/13/19)

This story promises a road trip and a main character that is attempting to figure out who her estranged brother actually was. I have a feeling this is going to be one that punches me in the gut and I’m always in the mood for that to happen. This cover is also striking and mysterious and it instantly caught my attention.

Continue reading “Ten of My Most Anticipated Releases from the Second Half of 2019”