Review: What I Want You to See by Catherine Linka

Title: What I Want You to See
Author: Catherine Linka
Release Date: February 4, 2020
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: homelessness, anxiety, panic attacks, PTSD, suicide, hospitals, death of a parent

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Winning a scholarship to California’s most prestigious art school seems like a fairy tale ending to Sabine Reye’s awful senior year. After losing both her mother and her home, Sabine longs for a place where she belongs.

But the cutthroat world of visual arts is nothing like what Sabine had imagined. Colin Krell, the renowned faculty member whom she had hoped would mentor her, seems to take merciless delight in tearing down her best work—and warns her that she’ll lose the merit-based award if she doesn’t improve.

Desperate and humiliated, Sabine doesn’t know where to turn. Then she meets Adam, a grad student who understands better than anyone the pressures of art school. He even helps Sabine get insight on Krell by showing her the modern master’s work in progress, a portrait that’s sold for a million dollars sight unseen.

Continue reading “Review: What I Want You to See by Catherine Linka”

Sunday Stacks #19

I thought my slump was over last time I shared a TBR…but I was wrong. This time I think it’s for real though! I’ve been reading again and it has been absolutely wonderful.

My slump put me a bit behind on my review copies (why did everything have to release all at once on January 7?) but I’m slowly getting caught up. Some reviews are just going to be late – but I’ll get there! Here are the three books I’m hoping to read and write reviews for this week…

I remember hearing so many great things about Hannah Capin’s debut, The Dead Queens Club, last year which has made me incredibly excited to read Foul is Fair! This is the very first unsolicited ARC I ever received so even if I end up not loving the story (though I feel like I will) it will always hold a very special place in my heart.

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks #19”

Readers' Favorite Books From the Past Decade

Back in November I started thinking about the upcoming end of the decade and how many amazing books were released. Naturally, I started to pick my favorite and of course wondered what everybody else considered their favorite to be. Since my curiosity always gets the better of me I set up a Google form and asked for submissions here and on Twitter. Here are the responses!

Mina from Bookish Enby loved…

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia because it has the “best mental health and grey ace rep.”

Katrina from RinaReadsBooks loved…

Every Last Word by Tamera Ireland Stone! “It’s the book I see myself the most in! Also the book I always turn back to when I need to reread something.”

Continue reading “Readers' Favorite Books From the Past Decade”

Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!

How, HOw, HOW do you create a cover that simultaneously says:

FUN HEIST!!

Super cool glowy magic fantasy 

Flashy hi-tech sci-fi!

Sarcasm and jokesssss

???????????

Continue reading “Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!”

Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith

Title: How to Speak Boy
Author: Tiana Smith
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 256

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Quinn and Grayson have been fierce speech and debate rivals for years. They can’t stand one another, either in competition or in real life.

But when their AP Government teacher returns their school assignments to the wrong cubbies, they begin exchanging anonymous notes without knowing who the other is.

Continue reading “Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith”

Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Title: Bug Boys
Author: Laura Knetzger
Release Date: February 11, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own – sometimes confusing and complicated – thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town’s popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

Continue reading “Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger”

2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results

Back in November I announced that nominations were open for the 2019 YA Yearbook Awards. The top five nominations in each category moved on to the voting round and today I’m excited to announce the winners!

I was overwhelmed to see 252 people cast votes! That was a much number larger than I ever imagined would participate! Thank you to every single person that took the time to nominate your favorite books and characters and vote – your support for my project meant a lot!

Also a huge thank you to Erin Hahn for inspiring the creation of these awards. If you haven’t read her debut from last year, You’d Be Mine, you are missing out on a really great story. Read my review here! And make sure her sophomore novel, More Than Maybe, is on your radar for May because it is absolute perfection. Read my five fast facts about it here!

Now, without further ado, here are the winners!

book most likely to make you question your entire existence

Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Continue reading “2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results”