Sunday Stacks Week Eight

I’ve had two weeks to complete the last TBR I shared with you aaaaaand I didn’t do it…. The worst reading slump I’ve experienced in a long time is still going strong. It’s given me time to eliminate some things from my Netflix list, but I’m more than ready to get back to hitting the books. I’m hoping this will be the magic week.

Here’s a look at my last planned TBR and what will hopefully get read this week.

Screen Queens just wasn’t anywhere near as good as I was hoping it would be. This is one that had so much potential and unfortunately for me it ended up falling flat. Though, the last 20 percent of the story was really good! I wish the entire thing had the power the last part did. I’ll have a full review going up tomorrow that will explain more of why this one just didn’t work for me.

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks Week Eight”
Advertisements

It’s Okay to Always Be Discovering Yourself

One of my very best friends, Taylor from Stay on the Page, asked me to write a piece for her 30 Days of Pride Event she co-hosted with Ben from Ace of Bens. I immediately said yes, and though sharing this part of me was a little scary, I’m so thankful Taylor gave me a platform, boosted my voice, and believed in me. She is such a gem and truly part of my heart.

I’ve spent the entire month of June wanting to do something special for Pride Month, but I haven’t been able to come up with anything. This is still a part of me that I’m trying to figure out and I don’t always know how to bring it up or talk about it.

Continue reading “It’s Okay to Always Be Discovering Yourself”

Eight of My Favorite Netflix Original Shows (And Why You Should Binge Them)

One of the worst reading slumps that has hit me in a while is currently happening. Depression has been a huge factor, and because of it my Netflix has been getting used a ton more. So, sorry if you only come here for the books, I’m going to take this opportunity to share eight of my favorite Netflix original series (and why you should binge them).

Continue reading “Eight of My Favorite Netflix Original Shows (And Why You Should Binge Them)”

Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai

Title: A Match Made in Mehendi
Author: Nandini Bajpai
Release Date: September 10, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole-matchmakers-with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.”

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service-via an app, of course.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai”

Eight Books You Should Be Reading This Summer

If you’re somebody that gets a lot of free time during the summer, then it’s the perfect opportunity to get in some extra reading! I’ve put together a list of eight books that are perfect for the (hopefully) lazy summer days ahead of you.

I can’t really explain why, but I love when main characters work in gift shops over the summer. The Goodbye Summer by Sarah Van Name resonated with me so deeply and was the book I wish I had in high school. Read my full review then add it to your TBR!

Continue reading “Eight Books You Should Be Reading This Summer”

Do I Have That Book? Tag

This has probably been the tag I’ve had the most fun with so far! It’s actually more of a challenge or scavenger hunt, though, and it’s definitely the one that’s been the most stressful. I pretty much forgot about every single book I owned while trying to complete it.

Nobody specifically challenged me to do this, but I saw Tracy from Cornerfolds do it and thought it looked like so much fun! Thanks, Keeping Tabs, for originally making this!

Rules

  • Time yourself trying to find each prompt on your shelf.
  • Try and beat the time of the person who challenged you.
  • Don’t forget to tag your challenger and the original creator.
Continue reading “Do I Have That Book? Tag”

Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

Title: Something Like Gravity
Author: Amber Smith
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 400

Content Warnings: homophobia, transphobia, assault, death of a sibling, panic attacks

Does the dog die? Yes

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

Continue reading “Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith”