Sunday Stacks Week Seven

It’s been a month since my last Sunday Stacks post, sorry! Life got a little crazy. You can read about it in my May wrap up. I haven’t actually been reading a lot lately, also because of life, but I’m determined to get back into it this week! Here’s an update on the last TBR I shared with you and what my TBR looks like for this week!

I definitely want to read more by Christina June after finishing No Place Like Here. It was sweet and the perfect read for the beginning of summer. This was a very quick and easy one to get through and had some really wonderful family themes. I’m so glad I was given the opportunity to read and review it for the blog tour. My full review was posted at the beginning of the month, so make sure you read it before you go then add No Place Like Here to your TBR!

If you’re looking for a great middle grade novel full of personality, then look no further. Erin Dionne’s Secrets of a Fangirl was fun and full of important lessons. I was able to interview Erin (read it here!) as a part of the blog tour and she was such a delight. I can’t wait to pass this one onto a middle grader that needs to read it because there’s really something special about it. My full review went up just a few days ago!

Lou! My wonderful amazing fantastic messy chaotic bisexual icon! To be honest, when I started Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan, and really until about two thirds of the way through it, I wasn’t the hugest fan. Certain aspects of it made me uncomfortable, but I’m so glad to say that by the end everything was resolved and I loved every single part of the story. We are truly living in 20biteen and the bisexual rep in Hot Dog Girl was fantastic.

I think I actually squealed a little when I saw the blog tour sign up email for Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein come through. There aren’t enough books featuring females in STEM industries and I’m glad to finally be reading one. The synopsis boasts that Screen Queens is perfect for fans of Morgan Matson and Jenny Han and I am absolutely 100% here for that. Plus, the cover is super cute. I’m really loving all of the illustrated covers publishers are giving us lately. They’re too perfect!

Fantasy isn’t normally a genre I get into, but when the publisher sent me an ARC of Crystal Smith’s Bloodleaf I couldn’t help but be interested. It may have helped that the book came with my first bookish enamel pin, but that’s beside the point. I really enjoy stories where royalty start living life as a normal person. There’s also been some great buzz going on about Bloodleaf since it’s release so I can’t help but be a little curious about it. The cover is also beautiful and has the prettiest color of blue.

I already read a pretty good amount of queer stories, they’re what I like, but I’m trying to get in an extra amount during the month of June since it’s PRIDE MONTH! Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann has been on my shelf since it released, but for some reason I haven’t read it yet. I really can’t think of any other stories I’ve encountered that feature asexual characters, and that representation is so badly needed.

What are you planning on reading this week? Let me know in the comments below!

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Sunday Stacks Week Seven”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s