Eight Novels Written in Verse You Should Try

If you’ve ever wondered what type of book I will absolutely pick up every single time then this post is for you! Novels written in verse are my weakness and even if the synopsis doesn’t completely capture my attention this writing style will. Here are eight of my favorites if you’re wanting to give books in verse a try.

Swing by Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess is a recent discovery of mine. I’ve found that verse novels tend to convey a great deal of emotion but I was floored at the amount in this one. Alexander and Hess write beautifully together and I was entranced from the very first page. Read my full review to see the other countless reasons why I love this one!

Continue reading “Eight Novels Written in Verse You Should Try”
Advertisements

Taylor Swift’s Lover Book Tag [Original]

Lover has been on repeat since it’s release and I’m head over heels in love with it! I was planning on doing a post where I matched a book up with each song but it seemed like a million people were already doing that so I thought why not make a book tag instead?

Rules

  • Know somebody who loves Taylor? Tag them! If you don’t know of anybody though, that’s okay too, you should still do the tag!
  • There is a prompt for each song but don’t feel pressured to do them all!
  • Link back to this post so Mari will get a notification that you did it and can come see your answers! Also because crediting creators is nice.
  • Feel free to use any of the graphics or make your own if you want!

Hungry by H.A. Swain is one of my least favorite books. The premise is interesting but the execution was one of the worst I’ve ever seen. And what was that ending?! A dumpster fire.

Continue reading “Taylor Swift’s Lover Book Tag [Original]”

Review: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams

Title: The Babysitters Coven
Series: The Babysitters Coven
Author: Kate Williams
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 368

Content Warnings: bullying, home invasion

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this funny, action-packed novel about a coven of witchy babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save the world from an onslaught of evil. 

Seventeen-year-old Esme Pearl has a babysitters club. She knows it’s kinda lame, but what else is she supposed to do? Get a job? Gross. Besides, Esme likes babysitting, and she’s good at it.

Continue reading “Review: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams”

Waiting on Wednesday: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How and the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Six Books I’d Like in My Personal Library

Is it really possible for somebody to own too many books? I certainly don’t think so! Here are six that I’d love to see sitting on my shelves.

I adored All in Pieces by Suzzane Young and I gave my copy to a friend that was wanting to read it. I’d love to own this book again and give it a re-read! This was the first story I ever saw the characters eating dogs and cheese (macaroni and cheese with hot dogs in it) which is something I can never get enough of!

Continue reading “Six Books I’d Like in My Personal Library”

Review: Six Goodbyes We Never Said by Candace Ganger

Title: Six Goodbyes We Never Said
Author: Candace Ganger
Release Date: September 24, 2019
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: mental illness, suicide attempt, self-harm, death of parents

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love, loss, and letting go

Naima Rodriguez doesn’t want your patronizing sympathy as she grieves her father, her hero—a fallen Marine. She’ll hate you forever if you ask her to open up and remember him “as he was,” though that’s all her loving family wants her to do in order to manage her complex OCD and GAD. She’d rather everyone back the-eff off while she separates her Lucky Charms marshmallows into six, always six, Ziploc bags, while she avoids friends and people and living the life her father so desperately wanted for her. 

Continue reading “Review: Six Goodbyes We Never Said by Candace Ganger”

Sunday Stacks Week Fourteen

I read some really incredible books last week and I loved every second of it! August hasn’t been my best reading month, but the quality of books have been exceptionally high. I don’t plan on reading too much this week because my son has a heart procedure on Wednesday so we’ll be spending some time in the hospital.

Here’s a look at how last week’s TBR went and what I’m hoping to read this week!

Holy guacamole The Liar’s Daughter by Megan Cooley Peterson was so good! Only a few short hours passed from the time I started reading to the last page. Piper’s story is so compelling that I had no choice but to read it all right there and then. I was so impressed by Peterson’s young adult debut and it’s definitely one I recommend pre-ordering if you can. Read my full review to see all the reasons why I loved it!

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks Week Fourteen”