Review: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry

Title: Orpheus Girl
Author: Brynne Rebele-Henry
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Soho Teen
Pages: 176

Content Warnings: homophobia, transphobia, conversion therapy, shock therapy, abuse, self-harm, suicide attempt

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas.

Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has hidden her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are caught in an intimate moment, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival Raya vows to assume the mythic role of Orpheus to save them both and to return them to the world of the living, at any cost.

Continue reading “Review: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry”

September Book of the Month

Note: Make sure you read until the very end because I have a super special announcement that I’m incredibly excited about!!

September is almost over but the fun isn’t! I’d had a YA Book of the Month subscription for several rounds earlier in the year but stopped it recently when I needed to cut back on expenses. You know your girl couldn’t stay away though.

This month’s selections were really difficult to choose between. Practically impossible if we’re being honest. Luckily the publisher had sent me a finished copy of The Stars and the Blackness Between Them so that one was out. Fantasy isn’t my thing which nixed The Girl the Sea Gave Back and The Ten Thousand Doors of January. At this point I was left with Permanent Record and Frankly in Love.

Trying to make a choice was agonizing.

Continue reading “September Book of the Month”

Author Interview: Candace Ganger

I am so completely honored and excited to be welcoming Candace Ganger to my blog today. She is such an inspiration and the work she is doing to further the conversation on mental health is astounding. Her new book, Six Goodbyes We Never Said, is a poetic masterpiece and I highly suggest reading my review and picking a copy up when it releases on Tuesday.

Now, without further ado, on to the interview!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Candace, thank you so much for being on my blog today! As a mom that also struggles with her mental health, your openness on the topic is inspiring. Why do you feel that it’s important for us to be talking about these kinds of struggles?

Continue reading “Author Interview: Candace Ganger”

Four Upcoming Fall Debuts You’ll Fall in Love with Too by Taylor Tracy

Every fall brings a whole new pile of new releases to read and love, not unlike the leaves that will fall from the trees here in Jersey. I’ve gotten the chance to read quite a few of these upcoming gems recently (which are also ALL debuts and so doubly need your support and money) and want to share four of them that should be in your online baskets to pre-order immediately. There’s something for everyone, too, whether you’re a hardcore SFF fan or are looking for something more contemporary.

Continue reading “Four Upcoming Fall Debuts You’ll Fall in Love with Too by Taylor Tracy”

Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

Couple leaning on brick wall

Title: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Author: Jacqueline Firkins
Release Date: December 17, 2019
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins”