Review: Catfishing on CatNet by Naomi Kritzer

Title: Catfishing on Catnet
Author: Naomi Kritzer
Release Date: November 19, 2019
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 304

Content Warnings: discussion of genitalia, queerphobia, ableism, abuse, racism, police misconduct, kidnapping, mutilation, torture, hospitals, medical procedures, house fire

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

How much does the internet know about YOU? A thought-provoking near future YA thriller that could not be more timely as it explores issues of online privacy, artificial intelligence, and the power and perils of social networks.

Because her mom is always on the move, Steph hasn’t lived anyplace longer than six months. Her only constant is an online community called CatNet—a social media site where users upload cat pictures—a place she knows she is welcome. What Steph doesn’t know is that the admin of the site, CheshireCat, is a sentient A.I.

Continue reading “Review: Catfishing on CatNet by Naomi Kritzer”

Review: Day Zero by Kelly deVos

Title: Day Zero
Series: Day Zero Duology
Author: Kelly deVos
Release Date: November 12, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 432

Content Warnings: violence, bombings, medical procedures, classism, death of a parent

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

If you’re going through hell…keep going.

Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx’s dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

Continue reading “Review: Day Zero by Kelly deVos”

The Book Snob Tag

I like to think I’m not a book snob but in reality y’all probably think I am. And I’m okay with that. I like what I like *shrug emoji* Grey from Use Your Words was a darling and tagged me in this and it was originally created by tia and all the books on YouTube!

Adaptation Snob: Do you always read the book before you see the movie?

I used to be a hardcore READ THE BOOK BEFORE THE MOVIE person but now like who has time for that? Really I don’t even watch that many movies or tv shows so it usually isn’t an issue. Right now I’d say I mostly read them after I see the adaptation.

Continue reading “The Book Snob Tag”

Review: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price

Title: A Thousand Fires
Author: Shannon Price
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 304

Content Warnings: self-harm, PTSD, anxiety, nervous tics, suicide ideation, suicide attempt, gun violence, gang violence, grief, depression, descriptions of blood and wounds, death of a sibling, underage drinking, drug use, unhealthy eating habits

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Shannon Price’s A Thousand Fires is a breakout contemporary debut―think The Outsiders meets The Iliad―that’s perfect for fans of Courtney Summers and Veronica Roth.

10 Years. 3 Gangs. 1 Girl’s Epic Quest…

Valerie Simons knows the city’s gang wars are dangerous—her own brother was killed by the Boars two years ago. But nothing will sway her from joining the elite and beautiful Herons to avenge his death—a death she feels responsible for.

Continue reading “Review: A Thousand Fires by Shannon Price”

Review: When the Stars Lead to You by Ronni Davis

Title: When the Stars Lead to You
Author: Ronni Davis
Release Date: November 12, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400

Content Warnings: depression, suicidal ideation, suicide attempt, racism, classism, microaggressions

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Eighteen-year-old Devon longs for two things.

The stars.
And the boy she fell in love with last summer.

When Ashton breaks Devon’s heart at the end of the most romantic and magical summer ever, she thinks her heart will never heal again. But over the course of the following year, Devon finds herself slowly putting the broken pieces back together.

Continue reading “Review: When the Stars Lead to You by Ronni Davis”

Review: A Constellation of Roses by Miranda Asebedo

Title: A Constellation of Roses
Author: Miranda Asebedo
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: cancer, death of a parent, death of a sibling, underage drinking, addiction, depression, suicide, child abuse

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Ever since her mother walked out, Trix McCabe has been determined to make it on her own. And with her near-magical gift for pulling valuables off unsuspecting strangers, Trix is confident she has what it takes to survive. Until she’s caught and given a choice: jail time, or go live with her long-lost family in the tiny town of Rocksaw, Kansas.

Trix doesn’t plan to stick around Rocksaw long, but there’s something special about her McCabe relatives that she is drawn to. Her aunt, Mia, bakes pies that seem to cure all ills. Her cousin, Ember, can tell a person’s deepest secret with the touch of a hand. And Trix’s great-aunt takes one look at Trix’s palm and tells her that if she doesn’t put down roots somewhere, she won’t have a future anywhere.

Continue reading “Review: A Constellation of Roses by Miranda Asebedo”