Shattering Stigmas: Accepting Help by Shon from Books and Bugs

Welcome to the fifteenth day of Shattering Stigmas! Until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.

Content Warnings: death of a pet

I’ve struggled with my mental health from a young age. I was diagnosed with ADHD in first grade and depression in early middle school and anxiety starting to show up towards the end of middle school. Back when I unquestioningly did as my mother told me, I did pretty well. I went to the doctor, took my meds – no real problems. But once I started hearing what people outside my family said about it, I started having my doubts about lots of things. Did I really have these issues? A lot of people were discussing the rampant misdiagnosis of mental health problems and saying that prescription drugs were being handed out like candy on Halloween. I heard the teachers and other parents say my anxiety was caused by my mother being a helicopter parent. My best friend’s mom accused my mother of getting me medicated so that I would excel in school – because clearly, my Ritalin was a performance enhancing drug.

I felt awful. I felt like a fake. Was I really sick? I started hiding my medication. Oh, I’d lie and tell my doctor and my family that I’d taken my medicine. Eventually, I’d break down and admit that I hadn’t taken my medication for months. I’d get back on my medication and the cycle would begin again.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Accepting Help by Shon from Books and Bugs”

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Title: Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: physical descriptions of surgery and medical procedures, pregnancy, childbirth, child death, grief, physical violence, child abuse, physical abuse, ableism, classism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Continue reading “Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor”

Shattering Stigmas: How My Mental Illness Effects Me as a Reader and a Blogger by Amber from The Book Bratz

Welcome to the fourteenth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


I’ve been a young adult book blogger for almost 7 years now. I’ve struggled with my mental illness long before that though. My love for reading developed when it became my escape from my anxieties and the darkness that bloomed around the corners. Being an avid reader, book blogger and a writer have all given me outlets to express my love of books and work with people in the industry, community and interact with other readers in general. It brings some sunshine on those dark days and it lets me escape into a world where I am strong and fierce and I can ride a dragon. (The first two I constantly tell myself are true, the last one, I wish it was.)

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: How My Mental Illness Effects Me as a Reader and a Blogger by Amber from The Book Bratz”

Shattering Stigmas: Ted Revolutionizes the Toaster by Anonymous

Welcome to the thirteenth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


Content Warnings: self-harm, anxiety, alcoholism, death by suicide

When I was a little kid, my uncle used to let me help him color in the black-and-white outlines of his cartoons. He was an artist, and had a side hustle selling greeting cards and art prints. My very favorite was a poster-sized piece called “Ted Revolutionizes the Toaster,” in which Ted, pictured at the bottom of the frame, envisions a behemoth of an invention, all cogs and pulleys and gears — and in the middle of it is a tiny toaster. Before I had the poster hanging in my house and could see it every day, it was always exciting for me to try to find the toaster amidst the chaos. I loved, too, trying to figure out how so much machinery could be powering such a seemingly simple toaster.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Ted Revolutionizes the Toaster by Anonymous”

Shattering Stigmas: Autism and How It Intersects My Chronic Depression and Anxiety Disorder by Mina from Bookish Enby

Welcome to the twelfth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


I’m always having a break though/ Break down/ or Blackout; I don’t need anyone/ I just need everyone

halsey – clementine (manic cd)

Autism is a tricky thing to label. Some call it a learning disability. Some call it a development delayed disorder. Some call it Neurodivergent. Others tie it into their religious beliefs. Calling us Indigo children, Rainbow children. I personally feel the label doesn’t matter. I’m obsessed with labels but this one is just too tricky. 

Right now, the big face of Autistic people is Greta. She didn’t want it that way but it happened anyway. You won’t really see us on TV or in Movies. We’re not as easy to twist as those with bipolar or schizophrenia. There is no medication for us, so horror movies can’t have any fun with us. 

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Autism and How It Intersects My Chronic Depression and Anxiety Disorder by Mina from Bookish Enby”