Shattering Stigmas: Autism and How It Intersects My Chronic Depression and Anxiety Disorder by Mina from Bookish Enby

Welcome to the twelfth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


I’m always having a break though/ Break down/ or Blackout; I don’t need anyone/ I just need everyone

halsey – clementine (manic cd)

Autism is a tricky thing to label. Some call it a learning disability. Some call it a development delayed disorder. Some call it Neurodivergent. Others tie it into their religious beliefs. Calling us Indigo children, Rainbow children. I personally feel the label doesn’t matter. I’m obsessed with labels but this one is just too tricky. 

Right now, the big face of Autistic people is Greta. She didn’t want it that way but it happened anyway. You won’t really see us on TV or in Movies. We’re not as easy to twist as those with bipolar or schizophrenia. There is no medication for us, so horror movies can’t have any fun with us. 

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Autism and How It Intersects My Chronic Depression and Anxiety Disorder by Mina from Bookish Enby”

Shattering Stigmas: Handholds for in the Dark by Heidi

Welcome to the eleventh day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


In honor of Shattering Stigmas, I thought I’d give you a brief history of my mental health, but what I really want to focus on is how to help either yourself or, if you have a loved one whose symptoms manifest like mine, maybe this can help you help them.

As long as I can remember, I’ve been battling anxiety and depression, but I refused to acknowledge it. I pushed hard against anyone who suggested that those were clinical diagnoses that might apply to me – I even ended a friendship over it. I was so afraid of the stigma that I refused to go get help until I was 25. 

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Handholds for in the Dark by Heidi”

Shattering Stigmas: Jamie at Books and Ladders’ Review of Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes

Welcome to the tenth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


Title: Girl Against the Universe
Author: Paula Stokes
Release Date: May 17, 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 382

Content Warnings: death of family, survivor’s guilt, obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), generalized anxiety disorder (GAD), hospitalization

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Maguire is bad luck.

No matter how many charms she buys off the internet or good luck rituals she performs each morning, horrible things happen when Maguire is around. Like that time the roller coaster jumped off its tracks. Or the time the house next door caught on fire. Or that time her brother, father, and uncle were all killed in a car crash—and Maguire walked away with barely a scratch.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Jamie at Books and Ladders’ Review of Girl Against the Universe by Paula Stokes”

Shattering Stigmas: On Perfectionism as a Debut Author by Zack Smedley

Welcome to the ninth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


In September 2013, filmmaker Damien Chazelle—best known for the acclaimed films La La Land and Whiplash—was in a roadway accident that totaled his car. Despite being hospitalized, Chazelle returned to work the next day to resume filming Whiplash, which had a shooting schedule comprised of 18-hour workdays. The film went on to rack up 114 award nominations, win 49 of them, and is considered by many—myself included—to be one of the greatest films of its time.

When I read about this, I smirked and thought, “now there’s a guy who’s serious about the things he creates.” It reminded of the stories I’d heard of Aaron Sorkin, who would regularly turn in scripts late for The West Wing because he wasn’t happy with them yet. Or pop star MARINA, who rejected offers from 14 record labels because she wasn’t satisfied with their level of creative control.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: On Perfectionism as a Debut Author by Zack Smedley”

Shattering Stigmas: Up All Night for Suicide Prevention by Lindsey Turnbull

Welcome to the eighth day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


Content Warnings: suicide

Twice now, I have walked 16 miles with 1,500 friends, in/visibly bound together, through Washington, DC and Philadelphia, PA, from 8 pm to 5 am for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention as a way to bring mental health and suicide awareness “out of the darkness.”

Not only did my own community TURN OUT and donate $1,000 in less than a week for Suicide Prevention (TWICE!), I found comfort in strangers for the first time ever.

As part of the walk, participants decorate luminarias in honor of loved ones lost to suicide and personal struggles, and wear honor beads, each color representing a different struggle or loss. When we pass someone on the we don’t see their inner personal struggle, or know that they lost a parent or sibling to suicide. The honor bead ritual bound 1,500 walkers together, putting their loss and triumphs on display, a visible community, created of grief, and loss, and hope, for one night.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Up All Night for Suicide Prevention by Lindsey Turnbull”

Shattering Stigmas: Author Interview with Ronni Davis

Welcome to the seventh day of Shattering Stigmas! From now until October 22 I’ll be highlighting voices from the book community on mental health. I’m co-hosting this event with Taylor from Stay on the Page, Shannon from It Starts at Midnight, and Amber from YA Indulgences so make sure to check their blogs out each day to see different content.


Ronni, thank you so much for coming to talk about mental health. What does shattering stigmas mean to you?

To me, shattering stigmas means making things previously thought to be “taboo” more mainstream, so that we can have real conversations that are able to drive real change. In the case of mental illness, so many people still feel ashamed to admit they have it, and in turn, never get or use the treatment they need. I struggle with this myself. I’ll skip my medicine for no good reason, then wonder why I feel so terrible. And I think it’s because of a deep-seated shame that I even need it.

If the stigma gets shattered, well, I hope that means fewer people will feel shame because of their illness, and I hope it means more people will be able to get treatment. But we need to keep the dialogue open, and I’m so glad to see a lot of it happening. There are so many great Instagram accounts devoted to shattering this sigma, which is wonderful. I just hope this momentum keeps going.

Continue reading “Shattering Stigmas: Author Interview with Ronni Davis”

Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Title: By Any Means Necessary
Author: Candice Montgomery
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: addiction, underage drinking, gentrification, racism, police brutality, death of family

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Continue reading “Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”