Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”

Sensational Sophomores: Katya de Becerra’s Playlist and Aesthetic Inspired by Oasis

Sensational Sophomores is a periodic blog series highlighting authors who are releasing their second book. Today, I am honored to be welcoming Katya de Becerra, author of What the Woods Keep and the forthcoming Oasis (1/7/2020) as she shares her playlist and visual aesthetic for Oasis!

If you are an author interested in being featured in this series please click here to fill out the Google form.

clockwise starting with the background photo for Oasis title:
Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash
Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash  
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash 
Photo by Sander Weeteling on Unsplash
Continue reading “Sensational Sophomores: Katya de Becerra’s Playlist and Aesthetic Inspired by Oasis”

Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Title: Jane Anonymous
Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: kidnapping, sexual assault, self-harm, negative therapy experiences, Stockholm syndrome, PTSD, panic attacks, suicidal thoughts drugging, talk of animal abuse, death of an animal, death of a grandmother, death of a sibling, mention of bulimia

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz returns with Jane Anonymous, a gripping tale of a seventeen-year-old girl’s kidnapping and her struggle to fit back into her life after she escapes.

Then, “Jane” was just your typical 17-year-old in a typical New England suburb getting ready to start her senior year. She had a part-time job she enjoyed, an awesome best friend, overbearing but loving parents, and a crush on a boy who was taking her to see her favorite band. She never would’ve imagined that in her town where nothing ever happens, a series of small coincidences would lead to a devastating turn of events that would forever change her life.

Continue reading “Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz”

Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent

Title: The Fast and the Furriest
Series: Snazzy Cat Capers
Author/Illustrator: Deanna Kent/Neil Hooson
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Publisher: Imprint
Pages: 224

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Life is short. Save the world, live to tell the tail.

Ophelia von Hairball V of Burglaria, international kitty of mystery, is always fishing for a new mission im-paws-ible.

So when a thief steals a dangerous artifact from its vault, the Furry Feline Burglary Institute (FFBI) puts Ophelia in charge of stealing it back.

But when the cat’s away, the dogs will play. The Central Canine Intelligence Agency (CCIA) is hot on her tail—and they want the artifact for themselves!

Continue reading “Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent”

Sunday Stacks Week Eighteen

I read a lot during the first half of November and not so much during the second. When December started I was in a really big reading mood and told myself I wanted to get twenty books read this month but then it took me a week to finish my first book…

Here’s a look at how my last TBR went and what I’m hoping to read this week to get back into the swing of things.

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins was a huge letdown for me. Overall it was incredibly repetitive and I didn’t find any of the characters to be enjoyable. It’s a retelling of Mansfield Park by Jane Austen so maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I was familiar with that story? This just wasn’t the book for me though and though I’m disappointed I’m also okay with it. Read my full review by clicking here.

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks Week Eighteen”

Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson

Title: Sisters of Shadow and Light
Series: Sisters of Shadow and Light
Author: Sara B. Larson
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 368

Content Warnings: self-harm, abuse, thoughts of suicide, death of parents, violence

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson, Sisters of Shadow and Light is a timeless and fantastical tale of sisterly love and powerful magic

The night my sister was born, the stars died and were reborn in her eyes….

Zuhra and Inara have grown up in the Citadel of the Paladins, an abandoned fortress where legendary, magical warriors once lived before disappearing from the world—including their Paladin father the night Inara was born.

Continue reading “Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson”

Sensational Sophomores: Interview with Jodie Lynn Zdrok

Sensational Sophomores is a periodic blog series highlighting authors who are releasing their second book. Today, I am honored to be welcoming Jodie Lynn Zdrok, author of Spectacle and the upcoming Sensational (2/11/2020), for an interview!

If you are an author interested in being featured in this series please click here to fill out the Google form.

Jodie Lynn Zdrok holds two MAs in European History (Providence College, Brown University) and an MBA (Clark University). In addition to being an author, she’s a marketing professional, a freelancer, and an unapologetic Boston sports fan. She enjoys traveling, being a foodie, doing sprint triathlons, and enabling cats. She is represented by Ginger Clark of Curtis Brown, Ltd.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Hi, Jodie! Thank you so much for participating in the Sensational Sophomores feature! What new challenges did you face while writing your second book, Sensational, as opposed to when writing Spectacle?

Continue reading “Sensational Sophomores: Interview with Jodie Lynn Zdrok”