Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!

How, HOw, HOW do you create a cover that simultaneously says:

FUN HEIST!!

Super cool glowy magic fantasy 

Flashy hi-tech sci-fi!

Sarcasm and jokesssss

???????????

Continue reading “Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!”

Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith

Title: How to Speak Boy
Author: Tiana Smith
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 256

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Quinn and Grayson have been fierce speech and debate rivals for years. They can’t stand one another, either in competition or in real life.

But when their AP Government teacher returns their school assignments to the wrong cubbies, they begin exchanging anonymous notes without knowing who the other is.

Continue reading “Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith”

Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Title: Bug Boys
Author: Laura Knetzger
Release Date: February 11, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own – sometimes confusing and complicated – thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town’s popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

Continue reading “Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger”

2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results

Back in November I announced that nominations were open for the 2019 YA Yearbook Awards. The top five nominations in each category moved on to the voting round and today I’m excited to announce the winners!

I was overwhelmed to see 252 people cast votes! That was a much number larger than I ever imagined would participate! Thank you to every single person that took the time to nominate your favorite books and characters and vote – your support for my project meant a lot!

Also a huge thank you to Erin Hahn for inspiring the creation of these awards. If you haven’t read her debut from last year, You’d Be Mine, you are missing out on a really great story. Read my review here! And make sure her sophomore novel, More Than Maybe, is on your radar for May because it is absolute perfection. Read my five fast facts about it here!

Now, without further ado, here are the winners!

book most likely to make you question your entire existence

Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Continue reading “2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results”

Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!

Title: Furious Thing
Author: Jenny Downham
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: gaslighting, abuse, bullying, underage drinking, drug use, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can’t understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi’s angry. And it’s getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she’s determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn’t make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there’ll be fireworks when it does.

Continue reading “Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!”