Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry

Title: Orpheus Girl
Author: Brynne Rebele-Henry
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Soho Teen
Pages: 176
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. 

Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has hidden her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are caught in an intimate moment, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival Raya vows to assume the mythic role of Orpheus to save them both and to return them to the world of the living, at any cost. 

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry”
Advertisements

Ten Books I’d Love to See on My Netflix Screen

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt was a page to screen freebie and I’ve decided to share with you ten books that I’d love to see adaptations of! Some of them will be movies while others I think would be better as a series. Netflix does great with their original content, so I’d love if they were the ones that picked all of these up!

Anna and the French Kiss

I really need the Anna and the French Kiss series to be turned into a miniseries. Kind of like how Netflix did with A Series of Unfortunate Events, I feel like these books would be great with two episodes for each one. That’s only six episodes for the entire thing! GIVE IT TO ME.

Continue reading “Ten Books I’d Love to See on My Netflix Screen”

Review: When We Were Lost by Kevin Wignall

Title: When We Were Lost
Author: Kevin Wignall
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Pages: 320
Buy it!

Trigger Warnings: plane crash, death, violence, suicide

Does the dog die? No!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

When a plane bound for Costa Rica crashes in deep jungle, the tail section breaks free and nineteen teenagers miraculously survive. Joel Aspinall, son of a local politician and student rep on the school’s council, is quick to take on the mantle of leadership, to organize everyone until a rescue party arrives. But the plane was crashed on purpose, no one knows where they are and no rescuers are coming. To make things worse, Joel’s decisions lead to more people dying, and he’s determined to wait it out. 

Continue reading “Review: When We Were Lost by Kevin Wignall”

Sunday Stacks Week Five

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done a Sunday Stacks. Instead, I introduced y’all to my new kitten, Noodle, and showed you what is currently on my iPhone the past two Sundays. But today I’m back with an updated weekly TBR! This week I’m actually participating in the next unexpected readathon Destiny from Howling Libraries is putting on. She does these every now and then and I love it! They really encourage me to buckle down and get a lot of reading done. Because of this I have a pretty ambitious TBR for the week.

Wow. Wow. Wow. It’s been about three weeks since I finished How it Feels to Float and I honestly haven’t stopped thinking about it. Biz’s story left me breathless and aching in the best way possible. This is seriously one of my favorite books I’ve read so far this year and it’s ranked pretty high up on my list of all time faves too. This novel is an incredible examination of mental illness, friendship, and sexuality. Make sure you read my full review and find the the mini playlist I put together for the book as well.

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks Week Five”

Shelf Awareness: KonMarie My Bookshelves (Major Book Unhaul!)

Welcome to week three of my Shelf Awareness series! Last week we talked about how to decide which books to get rid of when your collection becomes overwhelming. I loved everybody’s comments saying that you hate getting rid of books and refuse to do it very often (or never at all) and oh goodness do I relate! If it weren’t for having a toddler that has quickly taken over every square inch of my apartment I probably wouldn’t either!

This past week, though, I accepted the fact that my collection was getting out of hand. I started choosing things to unhaul on Tuesday and finished up on Thursday with the help of my husband. I had chosen a really good chunk of books to clear myself, but really felt like there was more I could do. He went behind me and pointed out a few things which made me talk about memories attached to certain books or helped me realize that there wasn’t actually a reason to hold on to a certain one.

What did my shelves look like beforehand?

Continue reading “Shelf Awareness: KonMarie My Bookshelves (Major Book Unhaul!)”

Tag: Currently Reading

When I saw this tag on Ayushi’s My Bookish Blog I thought it was so fun and the questions were unique, so of course I wanted to do it! Before starting my post I actually spent probably about ten minutes tracking down the creator of this tag. I started to get worried I wasn’t going to be able to figure it out, but I finally did (super sleuthing for the win!).

Thanks to Charly Reynhorse for this tag’s creation! Please, y’all, remember to always tag the creators any time you do something like this. Charly hasn’t been active on YouTube for a couple of years, but she still deserves credit for her original content.

Okay, thanks for listening to my little tangent. On to the questions!

How many books do you usually read at once?

Probably about 95% of the time I only read one. Sometimes though whenever I’m driving back and forth to the city, which takes several hours, for my son’s doctors appointments I’ll start an audiobook in the car that’s different from the physical book I’m reading. Or if I’m reading something on my Kindle and it dies then I’ll start a physical book. But those situations are rare.

Continue reading “Tag: Currently Reading”

Spotlight: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen

Welcome to my spot on the Happy Messy Scary Love blog tour! I’ll be sharing with you some information about the book and author, Leah Konen, as well as giving you an opportunity to win a copy!

Title: Happy Messy Scary Love
Author: Leah Konen
Release Date: May 14, 2019
Publisher: Amulet Books
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie. But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.

Continue reading “Spotlight: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen”