Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski

Title: The Runaway Princess
Author: Johan Troianowski
Release Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn’t have gone far. . . .

Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right?

Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives.

Not this princess!

Continue reading “Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski”

ARC Apocalypse Announcement and TBR

Back in November, Destiny from Howling Libraries asked if anybody was behind on review copies or had ever felt overwhelmed by their stacks of unread ARCs and I answered with a huge YES. To help with the problem so many of us face she created ARC Apocalypse!

This is a yearlong readathon dedicated to helping and inspiring us to get caught up on our unread review copies. My goal is to get through all 48 that I currently have, 42 physical and 6 NetGalley, as well as any additional ones that come in.

My TBR

Continue reading “ARC Apocalypse Announcement and TBR”

2019 End of the Year Survey

Hi! Remember me? It’s been a few weeks… I never intended to take a little hiatus but it was needed more than I realized.

To get back into the swing of things I thought I’d reflect on last year, the year I started blogging, by completing The Perpetual Page-Turner’s annual End of the Year Survey. I see it float around every year and I’m excited to finally have an outlet where I can fill it out.

Note: The survey is for books read throughout the year, no matter when they were published, and is not limited to just books that came out in 2019!

2019 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 153
Number of Re-Reads: 5
Genre You Read The Most From: contemporary

Best in Books

Best book you read in 2019?

Don’t make me choose between You’d Be Mine (review) and More than Maybe – both by Erin Hahn. The latter comes out this year but once I had an ARC in my hands there wasn’t anything anybody could do to keep me from reading it.

Continue reading “2019 End of the Year Survey”

Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”

Sensational Sophomores: Katya de Becerra’s Playlist and Aesthetic Inspired by Oasis

Sensational Sophomores is a periodic blog series highlighting authors who are releasing their second book. Today, I am honored to be welcoming Katya de Becerra, author of What the Woods Keep and the forthcoming Oasis (1/7/2020) as she shares her playlist and visual aesthetic for Oasis!

If you are an author interested in being featured in this series please click here to fill out the Google form.

clockwise starting with the background photo for Oasis title:
Photo by Hal Gatewood on Unsplash
Photo by Dane Deaner on Unsplash  
Photo by Alexander Krivitskiy on Unsplash 
Photo by Sander Weeteling on Unsplash
Continue reading “Sensational Sophomores: Katya de Becerra’s Playlist and Aesthetic Inspired by Oasis”

Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Title: Jane Anonymous
Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: kidnapping, sexual assault, self-harm, negative therapy experiences, Stockholm syndrome, PTSD, panic attacks, suicidal thoughts drugging, talk of animal abuse, death of an animal, death of a grandmother, death of a sibling, mention of bulimia

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz returns with Jane Anonymous, a gripping tale of a seventeen-year-old girl’s kidnapping and her struggle to fit back into her life after she escapes.

Then, “Jane” was just your typical 17-year-old in a typical New England suburb getting ready to start her senior year. She had a part-time job she enjoyed, an awesome best friend, overbearing but loving parents, and a crush on a boy who was taking her to see her favorite band. She never would’ve imagined that in her town where nothing ever happens, a series of small coincidences would lead to a devastating turn of events that would forever change her life.

Continue reading “Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz”

Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent

Title: The Fast and the Furriest
Series: Snazzy Cat Capers
Author/Illustrator: Deanna Kent/Neil Hooson
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Publisher: Imprint
Pages: 224

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Life is short. Save the world, live to tell the tail.

Ophelia von Hairball V of Burglaria, international kitty of mystery, is always fishing for a new mission im-paws-ible.

So when a thief steals a dangerous artifact from its vault, the Furry Feline Burglary Institute (FFBI) puts Ophelia in charge of stealing it back.

But when the cat’s away, the dogs will play. The Central Canine Intelligence Agency (CCIA) is hot on her tail—and they want the artifact for themselves!

Continue reading “Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent”