2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results

Back in November I announced that nominations were open for the 2019 YA Yearbook Awards. The top five nominations in each category moved on to the voting round and today I’m excited to announce the winners!

I was overwhelmed to see 252 people cast votes! That was a much number larger than I ever imagined would participate! Thank you to every single person that took the time to nominate your favorite books and characters and vote – your support for my project meant a lot!

Also a huge thank you to Erin Hahn for inspiring the creation of these awards. If you haven’t read her debut from last year, You’d Be Mine, you are missing out on a really great story. Read my review here! And make sure her sophomore novel, More Than Maybe, is on your radar for May because it is absolute perfection. Read my five fast facts about it here!

Now, without further ado, here are the winners!

book most likely to make you question your entire existence

Wilder Girls by Rory Power

Continue reading “2019 YA Yearbook Awards Results”

Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!

Title: Furious Thing
Author: Jenny Downham
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: gaslighting, abuse, bullying, underage drinking, drug use, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can’t understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi’s angry. And it’s getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she’s determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn’t make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there’ll be fireworks when it does.

Continue reading “Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!”

Meet the Characters of Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz + Giveaway!

Welcome to my stop on the Jane Anonymous blog tour! The author, Laurie Faria Stolarz, is here to share an inside look at the characters before you start reading their story. You can also read my review of the book here!

Jane Anonymous

Jane is a soon-to-be senior in high school, excited for the next chapter in life. In her spare time, she works at a local clothing boutique, volunteers at a pet shelter, and runs cross-country track. Jane loves poetry, books, and hanging out with her best friend Shelley. It’s because of Shelley that Jane goes to work early one day – to pick up a gift she’d bought for Shelley’s birthday. But plans get derailed and Jane winds up kidnapped. She spends seven months in captivity. The novel serves as Jane’s journaled thoughts as she processes what happened and how she’s dealing day to day. 

Continue reading “Meet the Characters of Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz + Giveaway!”

Sensational Sophomores: Interview with Mia Siegert

Sensational Sophomores is a periodic blog series highlighting authors who are releasing their second book. Today, I am honored to be welcoming Mia Siegert, author of Jerkbait and the forthcoming Somebody Told Me (4/7/2020) for an interview!

If you are an author interested in being featured in this series please click here to fill out the Google form.

Mia Siegert’s sophomore novel SOMEBODY TOLD ME will come out with Lerner/Carolrhoda in Spring 2020 (#ownvoices). Their debut JERKBAIT made Goodreads Best YA of May 2016, Top 12 Indie YA from Barnes & Noble Teen Blog, Top 10 YA of 2016 from AndPop!, and gained attention from SB Nation, Publishers Weekly, Barnes & Noble Teen Blog, AndPOP!, MaximumPOP! UK, VOYA Magazine, Paste Magazine, Teen Librarian Toolbox, among many others.

Siegert is a self-taught costume designer with their husband. Their work has appeared on Netflix’s “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt” and the CW’s “Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.” When not writing or making costumes, Siegert can be found cosplaying, RPing, and playing Pokémon Go.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr | Facebook | Goodreads

Hey, Mia! Thank you for joining me today! Your second book, Somebody Told Me, comes out in April. How does it feel knowing that’s now less than six months away?

Thanks for having me! It’s pretty incredible and a bit surreal as it’s been some time since Jerkbait released. I’m really grateful for the readers for sticking with me and I can’t wait to get to know new readers.

Continue reading “Sensational Sophomores: Interview with Mia Siegert”

Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski

Title: The Runaway Princess
Author: Johan Troianowski
Release Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn’t have gone far. . . .

Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right?

Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives.

Not this princess!

Continue reading “Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski”

ARC Apocalypse Announcement and TBR

Back in November, Destiny from Howling Libraries asked if anybody was behind on review copies or had ever felt overwhelmed by their stacks of unread ARCs and I answered with a huge YES. To help with the problem so many of us face she created ARC Apocalypse!

This is a yearlong readathon dedicated to helping and inspiring us to get caught up on our unread review copies. My goal is to get through all 48 that I currently have, 42 physical and 6 NetGalley, as well as any additional ones that come in.

My TBR

Continue reading “ARC Apocalypse Announcement and TBR”

2019 End of the Year Survey

Hi! Remember me? It’s been a few weeks… I never intended to take a little hiatus but it was needed more than I realized.

To get back into the swing of things I thought I’d reflect on last year, the year I started blogging, by completing The Perpetual Page-Turner’s annual End of the Year Survey. I see it float around every year and I’m excited to finally have an outlet where I can fill it out.

Note: The survey is for books read throughout the year, no matter when they were published, and is not limited to just books that came out in 2019!

2019 Reading Stats

Number Of Books You Read: 153
Number of Re-Reads: 5
Genre You Read The Most From: contemporary

Best in Books

Best book you read in 2019?

Don’t make me choose between You’d Be Mine (review) and More than Maybe – both by Erin Hahn. The latter comes out this year but once I had an ARC in my hands there wasn’t anything anybody could do to keep me from reading it.

Continue reading “2019 End of the Year Survey”