Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Title: By Any Means Necessary
Author: Candice Montgomery
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: addiction, underage drinking, gentrification, racism, police brutality, death of family

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Continue reading “Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”

Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley

The long-awaited sequel to Circus Mirandus is finally here and I couldn’t be more excited!

As soon as I finished the first book I instantly started looking forward to The Bootlace Magician. These books are magical and the entire cast of characters feels so authentic. It isn’t a series I would have normally been drawn to but I’m so thankful I decided to give it a chance!

A couple of weeks ago I shared an aesthetic I made for Circus Mirandus and this week I thought I would share some of my favorite magical creatures to celebrate The Bootlace Magician.

I was heavily inspired by the beautiful cover. The way the rainbow of colors radiates from the dragon is stunning and I started thinking about other magical creatures. There are so many incredible ones that people have thought of over the years and I’m a little sad that some of them aren’t real.

Continue reading “Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley”

Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without

When Mari asked me to come up with thoughts on travel destinations everyone should visit in their lifetime and my favorite thing to do in each, my brain almost exploded (in a good, fireworks kind of way). Adventure is my middle name (not really but it should be) and it was also a promise in my wedding vows! 

I’m a HUGE fan of learning new things, breaking free from comfort zones, and expanding horizons. Even if adventure means something different to you (and doesn’t involve a racing pulse, or the zing of fear) the places listed have something for everyone! The important thing with each one, at least for me, is that every experience was an education, gave me insight into others, and myself, and left me with a story to tell.

So here are my five places in no particular order…

Continue reading “Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without”

Eight Things You Need to Pack Ahead of a Tornado

When I first heard of Natalie Lund’s debut, We Speak in Storms, I knew it was going to be a book I had to read. As somebody that has lived in tornado alley their entire life you’d think that I would be completely used to these monstrous storms by now – but I’m not. They actually terrify me. But even though tornadoes are one of my biggest fears I still love reading stories that involve them.

Because of my fear, I always make sure that I’m as prepared as possible when I know one is heading my way. Part of that preparedness is making sure my emergency bag is ready. What do I pack in that bag? Keep reading to find out!

Continue reading “Eight Things You Need to Pack Ahead of a Tornado”

Author Interview: Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith in Me is one of my most anticipated releases from this year, so I’m extra excited and thankful I was able to interview Sonia Hartl today! Her debut was incredible and I could scream about it all day so make sure you read my review!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Thank you so much for being here today, Sonia! I have NEVER come across a book quite like Have a Little Faith in Me, but as soon as I read the synopsis I knew I had to read it! Where did you get the idea or inspiration for this story?

Continue reading “Author Interview: Sonia Hartl”

Author Guest Post: Kelly Gunderman

Title: Finding Me
Author: Kelly Gunderman
Release Date: July 30, 2019
Publisher: Swoon Romance
Pages: 306

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Can you ever truly love someone who robbed you of everything?

Sixteen-year-old Claire Williams spends most of her days feeling angry and alone. After a car accident took her mother and Claire’s ability to walk, life in a wheelchair is the new normal. 
When she’s sent to live with her grandmother, away from school and friends, Claire has a chance for a fresh start. Just when Claire thinks she can handle things, she runs into Todd – the son of the man who caused the car accident.

Continue reading “Author Guest Post: Kelly Gunderman”

Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski

Title: Remember Me
Author: Chelsea Bobulski
Release Date: August 6, 2019
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: gun violence, murder, suicide

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this eerie and suspenseful YA, a teen girl discovers what connects her to the hotel she calls home as horrifying visions lead her to the truth. 

Nell Martin is moving again, this time to the Winslow Grand Hotel, built in 1878. As Nell is settling in, strange things begin to happen. Doors lock of their own accord, writing appears on bathroom walls–and most horrifying of all–visions of a dead boy permeate her waking life. Thinking it was her mind playing tricks on her, she soon finds the past and the present colliding as she learns horrific details of a murder that happened at the hotel in 1905 involving a girl named Lea.

Continue reading “Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski”