Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How & the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

Content Warnings: adoption, hospitals, heart disease, surgery, racism, abuse, depression, suicide attempt, drug abuse, alcoholism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Review: The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey

Title: The Library of Lost Things
Author: Laura Taylor Namey
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: hoarding, abandonment

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But when a new property manager becomes more active in the upkeep of their apartment complex, the only home Darcy has ever known outside of her books suddenly hangs in the balance.

Continue reading “Review: The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey”

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Title: Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: physical descriptions of surgery and medical procedures, pregnancy, childbirth, child death, grief, physical violence, child abuse, physical abuse, ableism, classism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Continue reading “Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor”

Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Title: By Any Means Necessary
Author: Candice Montgomery
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: addiction, underage drinking, gentrification, racism, police brutality, death of family

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Continue reading “Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”

Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley

The long-awaited sequel to Circus Mirandus is finally here and I couldn’t be more excited!

As soon as I finished the first book I instantly started looking forward to The Bootlace Magician. These books are magical and the entire cast of characters feels so authentic. It isn’t a series I would have normally been drawn to but I’m so thankful I decided to give it a chance!

A couple of weeks ago I shared an aesthetic I made for Circus Mirandus and this week I thought I would share some of my favorite magical creatures to celebrate The Bootlace Magician.

I was heavily inspired by the beautiful cover. The way the rainbow of colors radiates from the dragon is stunning and I started thinking about other magical creatures. There are so many incredible ones that people have thought of over the years and I’m a little sad that some of them aren’t real.

Continue reading “Inspired by The Bootlace Magician by Cassie Beasley”