Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You

As part of the blog tour for When the Stars Lead to You, I asked Ronni to create Sims of her characters! They look really incredible and I’m so excited to share them with you! You can also read my review of her absolutely incredible book here!


Oh my gosh YES! Any reason I have to play the Sims is a GOOD reason!! I ran out of time to build any houses, but I did make Sims! I have two versions of Ashton and Devon. The first is the Maxis version, with no custom content.

11-04-19_11-39-41 PM-2.png
Continue reading “Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You”
Advertisements

Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How & the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

Content Warnings: adoption, hospitals, heart disease, surgery, racism, abuse, depression, suicide attempt, drug abuse, alcoholism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without

When Mari asked me to come up with thoughts on travel destinations everyone should visit in their lifetime and my favorite thing to do in each, my brain almost exploded (in a good, fireworks kind of way). Adventure is my middle name (not really but it should be) and it was also a promise in my wedding vows! 

I’m a HUGE fan of learning new things, breaking free from comfort zones, and expanding horizons. Even if adventure means something different to you (and doesn’t involve a racing pulse, or the zing of fear) the places listed have something for everyone! The important thing with each one, at least for me, is that every experience was an education, gave me insight into others, and myself, and left me with a story to tell.

So here are my five places in no particular order…

Continue reading “Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without”

Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski

Title: Remember Me
Author: Chelsea Bobulski
Release Date: August 6, 2019
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: gun violence, murder, suicide

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this eerie and suspenseful YA, a teen girl discovers what connects her to the hotel she calls home as horrifying visions lead her to the truth. 

Nell Martin is moving again, this time to the Winslow Grand Hotel, built in 1878. As Nell is settling in, strange things begin to happen. Doors lock of their own accord, writing appears on bathroom walls–and most horrifying of all–visions of a dead boy permeate her waking life. Thinking it was her mind playing tricks on her, she soon finds the past and the present colliding as she learns horrific details of a murder that happened at the hotel in 1905 involving a girl named Lea.

Continue reading “Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski”

Excerpt and Giveaway: Announcing Trouble by Amy Fellner Dominy

Title: Announcing Trouble
Author: Amy Fellner Dominy
Release Date: August 5, 2019
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Pages: 306

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

I may know everything there is to know about baseball, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. Or like him. Garrett Reeves: sidelined player and the embodiment of everything I’ve learned to hate about baseball. He’s gorgeous, he’s cocky, he’s laser-focused on getting back in the game, no matter the cost.

Continue reading “Excerpt and Giveaway: Announcing Trouble by Amy Fellner Dominy”

Review: Swing by Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess

Title: Swing
Authors: Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess
Release Date: October 2, 2018
Publisher: Blink
Pages: 448

Content Warnings: PTSD, police brutality, underage drinking

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Things usually do not go as planned for seventeen-year-old Noah. He and his best friend Walt (aka Swing) have been cut from the high school baseball team for the third year in a row, and it looks like Noah’s love interest since third grade, Sam, will never take it past the “best friend” zone. Noah would love to retire his bat and accept the status quo, but Walt has big plans for them both, which include making the best baseball comeback ever, getting the girl, and finally finding cool.

Continue reading “Review: Swing by Kwame Alexander and Mary Rand Hess”

Author Interview: Laurie Boyle Crompton

Today I have Laurie Boyle Crompton, author of Pretty in Punxsutawney, here to answer some questions! We’ll be talking about the 80s and what books she’s been reading lately. Stick around until the end because you’ll have a chance to win her book as part of a five book prize pack!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Hi, Laurie! Thanks so much for being here today and answering my questions. What is it about a Groundhog Day type story that appeals to you?

I loved the idea of giving a teen character a do-over on an important day. I wanted to make sure it had the most potential for fun and drama, and landed on Andie’s first day at her new school. Of course, knowing what’s coming next doesn’t always help Andie all that much! This book was a blast to write and served as my chance to explore all sorts of outcomes with a character who I love.

Continue reading “Author Interview: Laurie Boyle Crompton”