Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!

How, HOw, HOW do you create a cover that simultaneously says:

FUN HEIST!!

Super cool glowy magic fantasy 

Flashy hi-tech sci-fi!

Sarcasm and jokesssss

???????????

Continue reading “Guest Post: The Story Behind the Cover of Spellhacker by M.K. England + Giveaway!”

Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!

Title: Furious Thing
Author: Jenny Downham
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: gaslighting, abuse, bullying, underage drinking, drug use, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can’t understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi’s angry. And it’s getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she’s determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn’t make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there’ll be fireworks when it does.

Continue reading “Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!”

Meet the Characters of Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz + Giveaway!

Welcome to my stop on the Jane Anonymous blog tour! The author, Laurie Faria Stolarz, is here to share an inside look at the characters before you start reading their story. You can also read my review of the book here!

Jane Anonymous

Jane is a soon-to-be senior in high school, excited for the next chapter in life. In her spare time, she works at a local clothing boutique, volunteers at a pet shelter, and runs cross-country track. Jane loves poetry, books, and hanging out with her best friend Shelley. It’s because of Shelley that Jane goes to work early one day – to pick up a gift she’d bought for Shelley’s birthday. But plans get derailed and Jane winds up kidnapped. She spends seven months in captivity. The novel serves as Jane’s journaled thoughts as she processes what happened and how she’s dealing day to day. 

Continue reading “Meet the Characters of Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz + Giveaway!”

Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You

As part of the blog tour for When the Stars Lead to You, I asked Ronni to create Sims of her characters! They look really incredible and I’m so excited to share them with you! You can also read my review of her absolutely incredible book here!


Oh my gosh YES! Any reason I have to play the Sims is a GOOD reason!! I ran out of time to build any houses, but I did make Sims! I have two versions of Ashton and Devon. The first is the Maxis version, with no custom content.

11-04-19_11-39-41 PM-2.png
Continue reading “Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You”

Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How & the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

Content Warnings: adoption, hospitals, heart disease, surgery, racism, abuse, depression, suicide attempt, drug abuse, alcoholism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without

When Mari asked me to come up with thoughts on travel destinations everyone should visit in their lifetime and my favorite thing to do in each, my brain almost exploded (in a good, fireworks kind of way). Adventure is my middle name (not really but it should be) and it was also a promise in my wedding vows! 

I’m a HUGE fan of learning new things, breaking free from comfort zones, and expanding horizons. Even if adventure means something different to you (and doesn’t involve a racing pulse, or the zing of fear) the places listed have something for everyone! The important thing with each one, at least for me, is that every experience was an education, gave me insight into others, and myself, and left me with a story to tell.

So here are my five places in no particular order…

Continue reading “Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without”

Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski

Title: Remember Me
Author: Chelsea Bobulski
Release Date: August 6, 2019
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: gun violence, murder, suicide

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this eerie and suspenseful YA, a teen girl discovers what connects her to the hotel she calls home as horrifying visions lead her to the truth. 

Nell Martin is moving again, this time to the Winslow Grand Hotel, built in 1878. As Nell is settling in, strange things begin to happen. Doors lock of their own accord, writing appears on bathroom walls–and most horrifying of all–visions of a dead boy permeate her waking life. Thinking it was her mind playing tricks on her, she soon finds the past and the present colliding as she learns horrific details of a murder that happened at the hotel in 1905 involving a girl named Lea.

Continue reading “Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski”