Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Title: Bug Boys
Author: Laura Knetzger
Release Date: February 11, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own – sometimes confusing and complicated – thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town’s popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

Continue reading “Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger”

Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski

Title: The Runaway Princess
Author: Johan Troianowski
Release Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn’t have gone far. . . .

Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right?

Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives.

Not this princess!

Continue reading “Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski”

Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”

Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia

Title: Teen Titans: Raven
Series: Teen Titans
Author: Kami Garcia
Release Date: July 2, 2019
Publisher: DC Ink
Pages: 192

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

When a tragic accident takes the life of seventeen-year-old Raven Roth’s foster mom–and Raven’s memory–she moves to New Orleans to live with her foster mother’s family and finish her senior year of high school.

Starting over isn’t easy. Raven remembers how to solve math equations and make pasta, but she can’t remember her favorite song or who she was before the accident. When strange things start happening–impossible things–Raven starts to think it might be better not to know who she was in her previous life.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia”

Ten of My Favorite Graphic Novels

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is to share books from your favorite genre, but I feel like I’ve told y’all about my favorite contemporary books a million times now, so let’s do graphic novels instead! I prefer standalone graphic novels instead of single issue ones in volumes. Here are ten of my favorites!

(It was really hard not to just turn this into a fan post about Tillie Walden. I limited myself to only two of her books and it really killed me.)

On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden left me speechless. This graphic novel has everything you could possibly want. Space? Check. Badass female characters? Check. Queer rep? Check. A non-binary character? Check. An exciting story? Check. Seriously, this book is everything. It’s so emotional and even though it’s long you’ll fly right through it because you won’t want to put it down. If I could only recommend one graphic novel to people for the rest of my life, this one would be it.

Continue reading “Ten of My Favorite Graphic Novels”

Review: Hotel Dare by Terry Blas and Claudia Aguirre

Title: Hotel Dare
Author: Terry Blas and Claudia Aguirre
Release Date: 6/11/2019
Publisher: KaBoom!
Pages: 144
Buy it!

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

It’s not your typical family vacation when Olive, and her adopted siblings Darwin and Charlotte find themselves falling into other worlds as they explore Grandma Lupé’s strange hotel.

OPEN THE DOOR. ADVENTURE AWAITS. 

Olive and her adopted siblings Charlotte and Darwin are spending the summer with their estranged grandma at her creepy hotel and it’s all work and no play. They’re stuck inside doing boring chores but they soon stumble upon an incredible secret… Behind each room door of the hotel lies a portal to a different strange and mysterious place. The simple turn of a knob transports them to a distant magical world filled with space pirates. Behind the next door are bearded wizards. Down the hall is a doorway to a cotton-candied kingdom. But once the doors are opened, worlds start colliding, and only one family can save them before they tear themselves apart. 

Continue reading “Review: Hotel Dare by Terry Blas and Claudia Aguirre”

Mini Review: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1

41559004

Title: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1
Author: Ngozi Ukazu
Release Date: 9/18/2018
Publisher: First Second
Pages: 288
Rating: 4 stars
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Helloooo, Internet Land. Bitty here!

Y’all… I might not be ready for this. I may be a former junior figure skating champion, vlogger extraordinaire, and very talented amateur pâtissier, but being a freshman on the Samwell University hockey team is a whole new challenge. It’s nothing like co-ed club hockey back in Georgia! First of all? There’s checking. And then, there is Jack—our very attractive but moody captain.

Continue reading “Mini Review: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1”