Review: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen

Title: Happy Messy Scary Love
Author: Leah Konen
Release Date: May 14, 2019
Publisher: Amulet Books
Pages: 272
Amazon | Book Depository | Indiebound

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie. But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.

Continue reading “Review: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen”

Sunday Stacks Week Four

Happy Easter, everyone! Last year was my son’s first Easter, but this is the first Easter he hasn’t been in the hospital for! The Easter bunny brought him a Paw Patrol book, some candy, and a new Peppa Pig toothbrush, and at some point during the day he’ll hunt for eggs filled with more candy.

I did so much reading last week and got all of the book’s on my TBR read plus some others! Here are some quick thought’s on the books from last week’s TBR and what I’m hoping to read this week!

This was a buddy read I did with my friend Britt from Geronimo Reads. We Were Beautiful was such an amazing book that examines loss, grief, and guilt with my favorite found family trope! All of the characters were fantastic and I loved the amount of growth and development they each showed. This is a lesser known young adult book that I really hope more readers start picking up.

Continue reading “Sunday Stacks Week Four”