Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”

Andy Review: You Must Not Miss by Katrina Leno

Title: You Must Not Miss
Author: Katrina Leno
Release Date: April 23, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 295

Content Warnings: sexual assault, suicide, underage drinking, unhealthy habits, bullying, anxiety

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Magpie Lewis started writing in her yellow notebook the day her family self-destructed. That was the night Eryn, Magpie’s sister, skipped town and left her to fend for herself. That was the night of Brandon Phipp’s party.

Continue reading “Andy Review: You Must Not Miss by Katrina Leno”

Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai

Title: A Match Made in Mehendi
Author: Nandini Bajpai
Release Date: September 10, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole-matchmakers-with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.”

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service-via an app, of course.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai”