Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Title: Bug Boys
Author: Laura Knetzger
Release Date: February 11, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own – sometimes confusing and complicated – thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town’s popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

Continue reading “Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger”

Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski

Title: The Runaway Princess
Author: Johan Troianowski
Release Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn’t have gone far. . . .

Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right?

Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives.

Not this princess!

Continue reading “Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski”

Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent

Title: The Fast and the Furriest
Series: Snazzy Cat Capers
Author/Illustrator: Deanna Kent/Neil Hooson
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Publisher: Imprint
Pages: 224

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Life is short. Save the world, live to tell the tail.

Ophelia von Hairball V of Burglaria, international kitty of mystery, is always fishing for a new mission im-paws-ible.

So when a thief steals a dangerous artifact from its vault, the Furry Feline Burglary Institute (FFBI) puts Ophelia in charge of stealing it back.

But when the cat’s away, the dogs will play. The Central Canine Intelligence Agency (CCIA) is hot on her tail—and they want the artifact for themselves!

Continue reading “Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent”

Review: Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine

Title: Ogre Enchanted
Series: Ella Enchanted
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Release Date: October 16, 2018
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 352

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this prequel to Ella Enchanted, which can stand on its own, young healer Evie is transformed into an ogre by the meddling fairy Lucinda. She’ll turn back only if someone proposes and she accepts!

Returning to the land and many of the characters from her beloved Newbery Honor–winning Ella Enchanted, Gail Carson Levine has written a delightful tale about a clever and endearing heroine who is determined to defy expectations.

Continue reading “Review: Ogre Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine”

Review: The Echo Park Castaways by M.G. Hennessey

Title: The Echo Park Castaways
Author: M.G. Hennessey
Release Date: July 2, 2019
Publisher: HarperCollins
Pages: 208

Content Warnings: death of a parent, foster care, cancer, deportation of a parent

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the author of The Other Boy comes a poignant and heartfelt novel that explores what it means to be a family. Perfect for fans of Counting by 7s.

Nevaeh, Vic, and Mara are veterans of the Los Angeles foster care system. For over a year they’ve been staying with Mrs. K in Echo Park. Vic spends most of his time living in a dream world, Mara barely speaks, and Nevaeh is forced to act as a back-up parent. Though their situation isn’t ideal, it’s still their best home yet.

Continue reading “Review: The Echo Park Castaways by M.G. Hennessey”