Guest Post: Writing a Bromance by Naomi Hughes

Bromance—a strong friendship between two guys—is one of my absolute favorite tropes. Sherlock and Watson! Kirk and Spock! Crowley and Aziraphale! Something about these types of relationships just always seems so special to me. I love the banter, the tension, the vulnerable moments. Even better, in my opinion, is if the guys start out as enemies before they grow into an unexpected friendship (or frenemy-ship).

So when it came time for me to brainstorm a brand-new story last year, of course I decided to write a bromance into it.

Continue reading “Guest Post: Writing a Bromance by Naomi Hughes”

Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Title: By Any Means Necessary
Author: Candice Montgomery
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: addiction, underage drinking, gentrification, racism, police brutality, death of family

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Continue reading “Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”

Review: Stealing Home by Becky Wallace

Title: Stealing Home
Author: Becky Wallace
Release Date: July 9, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Fight for your dreams, even if it means breaking a few rules.

Seventeen-year-old Ryan Russell has life perfectly planned. If she keeps up her hard work, one day she’ll take over the family business: owning the Buckley Beavers, a minor league baseball team, and become one of the only female General Managers in the sport.

But when the newest member of the Beavers, child-phenom Sawyer Campbell, shows up, Ryan’s carefully laid plans are thrown a major curveball. Sawyer is far more charming than the arrogant jocks she usually manages, his ambition rivals her own workaholic nature—and he’s completely out of bounds. Fraternizing is against every rule in the Beaver’s handbook.

Continue reading “Review: Stealing Home by Becky Wallace”