Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith

Title: How to Speak Boy
Author: Tiana Smith
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 256

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Quinn and Grayson have been fierce speech and debate rivals for years. They can’t stand one another, either in competition or in real life.

But when their AP Government teacher returns their school assignments to the wrong cubbies, they begin exchanging anonymous notes without knowing who the other is.

Continue reading “Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith”

Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger

Title: Bug Boys
Author: Laura Knetzger
Release Date: February 11, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Join two bug friends as they learn about the science of the world around them and the meaning of friendship in this early graphic novel series perfect for fans of Narwhal and Jelly!

Rhino-B is a brash, but sweet guy. Stag-B is a calm and scholarly adventurer. Together these two young beetles make up the Bug Boys, best friends who spend their time exploring the world of Bug Village and beyond, as well as their own – sometimes confusing and complicated – thoughts and feelings.

In their first adventure, the Bug Boys travel through spooky caves, work with a spider to found a library, save their town’s popular honey supply from extinction, and even make friends with ferocious termites!

Continue reading “Review: Bug Boys by Laura Knetzger”

Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!

Title: Furious Thing
Author: Jenny Downham
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: gaslighting, abuse, bullying, underage drinking, drug use, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can’t understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi’s angry. And it’s getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she’s determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn’t make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there’ll be fireworks when it does.

Continue reading “Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!”

Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski

Title: The Runaway Princess
Author: Johan Troianowski
Release Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher: Random House Graphic
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This princess can’t resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren’t quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn’t have gone far. . . .

Princesses don’t run away to have their own adventures. Right?

Princesses stay quietly and obediently at home. They would never want mermaids and swamps and pirates and getting kidnapped to be a part of their lives.

Not this princess!

Continue reading “Review: The Runaway Princess by Johan Troianowski”

Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”

Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz

Title: Jane Anonymous
Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: kidnapping, sexual assault, self-harm, negative therapy experiences, Stockholm syndrome, PTSD, panic attacks, suicidal thoughts drugging, talk of animal abuse, death of an animal, death of a grandmother, death of a sibling, mention of bulimia

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Bestselling author Laurie Faria Stolarz returns with Jane Anonymous, a gripping tale of a seventeen-year-old girl’s kidnapping and her struggle to fit back into her life after she escapes.

Then, “Jane” was just your typical 17-year-old in a typical New England suburb getting ready to start her senior year. She had a part-time job she enjoyed, an awesome best friend, overbearing but loving parents, and a crush on a boy who was taking her to see her favorite band. She never would’ve imagined that in her town where nothing ever happens, a series of small coincidences would lead to a devastating turn of events that would forever change her life.

Continue reading “Review: Jane Anonymous by Laurie Faria Stolarz”

Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent

Title: The Fast and the Furriest
Series: Snazzy Cat Capers
Author/Illustrator: Deanna Kent/Neil Hooson
Release Date: September 17, 2019
Publisher: Imprint
Pages: 224

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Life is short. Save the world, live to tell the tail.

Ophelia von Hairball V of Burglaria, international kitty of mystery, is always fishing for a new mission im-paws-ible.

So when a thief steals a dangerous artifact from its vault, the Furry Feline Burglary Institute (FFBI) puts Ophelia in charge of stealing it back.

But when the cat’s away, the dogs will play. The Central Canine Intelligence Agency (CCIA) is hot on her tail—and they want the artifact for themselves!

Continue reading “Review: The Fast and the Furriest by Deanna Kent”