Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Title: Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: physical descriptions of surgery and medical procedures, pregnancy, childbirth, child death, grief, physical violence, child abuse, physical abuse, ableism, classism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Continue reading “Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor”
Advertisements

Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery

Title: By Any Means Necessary
Author: Candice Montgomery
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Page Street
Pages: 320

Content Warnings: addiction, underage drinking, gentrification, racism, police brutality, death of family

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

An honest reflection on cultural identify, class, and gentrification. Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate Torrey.

On the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman, he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation: the bee farm his beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed on.

Continue reading “Review: By Any Means Necessary by Candice Montgomery”

Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without

When Mari asked me to come up with thoughts on travel destinations everyone should visit in their lifetime and my favorite thing to do in each, my brain almost exploded (in a good, fireworks kind of way). Adventure is my middle name (not really but it should be) and it was also a promise in my wedding vows! 

I’m a HUGE fan of learning new things, breaking free from comfort zones, and expanding horizons. Even if adventure means something different to you (and doesn’t involve a racing pulse, or the zing of fear) the places listed have something for everyone! The important thing with each one, at least for me, is that every experience was an education, gave me insight into others, and myself, and left me with a story to tell.

So here are my five places in no particular order…

Continue reading “Nancy Richardson Fischer’s Favorite Travel Destinations and What She Can’t Leave Home Without”

Author Interview: Sonia Hartl

Have a Little Faith in Me is one of my most anticipated releases from this year, so I’m extra excited and thankful I was able to interview Sonia Hartl today! Her debut was incredible and I could scream about it all day so make sure you read my review!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Thank you so much for being here today, Sonia! I have NEVER come across a book quite like Have a Little Faith in Me, but as soon as I read the synopsis I knew I had to read it! Where did you get the idea or inspiration for this story?

Continue reading “Author Interview: Sonia Hartl”

Author Guest Post: Kelly Gunderman

Title: Finding Me
Author: Kelly Gunderman
Release Date: July 30, 2019
Publisher: Swoon Romance
Pages: 306

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Can you ever truly love someone who robbed you of everything?

Sixteen-year-old Claire Williams spends most of her days feeling angry and alone. After a car accident took her mother and Claire’s ability to walk, life in a wheelchair is the new normal. 
When she’s sent to live with her grandmother, away from school and friends, Claire has a chance for a fresh start. Just when Claire thinks she can handle things, she runs into Todd – the son of the man who caused the car accident.

Continue reading “Author Guest Post: Kelly Gunderman”

Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski

Title: Remember Me
Author: Chelsea Bobulski
Release Date: August 6, 2019
Publisher: Feiwel and Friends
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: gun violence, murder, suicide

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this eerie and suspenseful YA, a teen girl discovers what connects her to the hotel she calls home as horrifying visions lead her to the truth. 

Nell Martin is moving again, this time to the Winslow Grand Hotel, built in 1878. As Nell is settling in, strange things begin to happen. Doors lock of their own accord, writing appears on bathroom walls–and most horrifying of all–visions of a dead boy permeate her waking life. Thinking it was her mind playing tricks on her, she soon finds the past and the present colliding as she learns horrific details of a murder that happened at the hotel in 1905 involving a girl named Lea.

Continue reading “Review: Remember Me by Chelsea Bobulski”

Excerpt and Giveaway: Announcing Trouble by Amy Fellner Dominy

Title: Announcing Trouble
Author: Amy Fellner Dominy
Release Date: August 5, 2019
Publisher: Entangled Publishing
Pages: 306

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

I may know everything there is to know about baseball, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it. Or like him. Garrett Reeves: sidelined player and the embodiment of everything I’ve learned to hate about baseball. He’s gorgeous, he’s cocky, he’s laser-focused on getting back in the game, no matter the cost.

Continue reading “Excerpt and Giveaway: Announcing Trouble by Amy Fellner Dominy”