Review: Coral by Sara Ella

Title: Coral
Author: Sara Ella
Release Date: November 12, 2019
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: anxiety, depression, PTSD, suicidal ideation, graphic depictions of suicide attempts, successful suicide, hospitals, self-harm, unhealthy eating, death of a parent, parental abandonment, disassociation

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

There is more than one way to drown.

Coral has always been different, standing out from her mermaid sisters in a society where blending in is key. Worse yet, she fears she has been afflicted with the dreaded Disease, said to be carried by humans—emotions. Can she face the darkness long enough to surface in the light?

Above the sea, Brooke has nothing left to give. Depression and anxiety have left her feeling isolated. Forgotten. The only thing she can rely on is the numbness she finds within the cool and comforting ocean waves. If only she weren’t stuck at Fathoms—a new group therapy home that promises a second chance at life. But what’s the point of living if her soul is destined to bleed?

Continue reading “Review: Coral by Sara Ella”

Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You

As part of the blog tour for When the Stars Lead to You, I asked Ronni to create Sims of her characters! They look really incredible and I’m so excited to share them with you! You can also read my review of her absolutely incredible book here!


Oh my gosh YES! Any reason I have to play the Sims is a GOOD reason!! I ran out of time to build any houses, but I did make Sims! I have two versions of Ashton and Devon. The first is the Maxis version, with no custom content.

11-04-19_11-39-41 PM-2.png
Continue reading “Guest Post and Giveaway: Ronni Davis Creates Sims of Her Characters from When the Stars Lead to You”

Guest Post: Writing a Bromance by Naomi Hughes

Bromance—a strong friendship between two guys—is one of my absolute favorite tropes. Sherlock and Watson! Kirk and Spock! Crowley and Aziraphale! Something about these types of relationships just always seems so special to me. I love the banter, the tension, the vulnerable moments. Even better, in my opinion, is if the guys start out as enemies before they grow into an unexpected friendship (or frenemy-ship).

So when it came time for me to brainstorm a brand-new story last year, of course I decided to write a bromance into it.

Continue reading “Guest Post: Writing a Bromance by Naomi Hughes”

Book Playlist: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson

Title: Sisters of Shadow and Light
Series: Sisters of Shadow and Light
Author: Sara B. Larson
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: Tor Teen
Pages: 368

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson, Sisters of Shadow and Light is a timeless and fantastical tale of sisterly love and powerful magic

The night my sister was born, the stars died and were reborn in her eyes….

Zuhra and Inara have grown up in the Citadel of the Paladins, an abandoned fortress where legendary, magical warriors once lived before disappearing from the world—including their Paladin father the night Inara was born.

Continue reading “Book Playlist: Sisters of Shadow and Light by Sara B. Larson”

Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How & the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

Content Warnings: adoption, hospitals, heart disease, surgery, racism, abuse, depression, suicide attempt, drug abuse, alcoholism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Review: The How & the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Review: The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey

Title: The Library of Lost Things
Author: Laura Taylor Namey
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: hoarding, abandonment

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But when a new property manager becomes more active in the upkeep of their apartment complex, the only home Darcy has ever known outside of her books suddenly hangs in the balance.

Continue reading “Review: The Library of Lost Things by Laura Taylor Namey”

Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Title: Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Release Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher: Scholastic
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: physical descriptions of surgery and medical procedures, pregnancy, childbirth, child death, grief, physical violence, child abuse, physical abuse, ableism, classism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher’s chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog — donning the moniker Technician — to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner’s tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner’s son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father’s respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father’s elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Continue reading “Review: Tarnished Are the Stars by Rosiee Thor”