Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry

Title: Orpheus Girl
Author: Brynne Rebele-Henry
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Soho Teen
Pages: 176
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. 

Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has hidden her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are caught in an intimate moment, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival Raya vows to assume the mythic role of Orpheus to save them both and to return them to the world of the living, at any cost. 

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry”
Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson

Title: The Art of Breaking Things
Author: Laura Sibson
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Pages: 304
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

Seventeen-year-old Skye has her sights set on one thing: getting the heck out of Dodge. Art school is her ticket out and she’s already been accepted to her first choice, MICA. All she has to do is survive her senior year, not get too drunk at parties, and be there for her little sister, Emma. Sure, she’s usually battling a hangover when she drives to pick Emma up, but she has everything under control. Until he returns.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams

Title: The Babysitters Coven
Author: Kate Williams
Release Date: 9/17/2019
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 368
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this funny, action-packed novel about a coven of witchy babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save the world from an onslaught of evil. 

Seventeen-year-old Esme Pearl has a babysitters club. She knows it’s kinda lame, but what else is she supposed to do? Get a job? Gross. Besides, Esme likes babysitting, and she’s good at it.

And lately Esme needs all the cash she can get, because it seems like destruction follows her wherever she goes. Let’s just say she owes some people a new tree.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante

Title: The Grief Keeper
Author: Alexandra Villasante
Release Date: 6/11/2019
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

Seventeen-year-old Marisol Morales and her little sister Gabi are detainees of the United States government. They were caught crossing the U.S. border, to escape the gang violence in their country after their brother was murdered. When Marisol learns that the old family friend who had offered them refuge in America has died and they are going to be sent home, they flee.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante”

Waiting on Wednesday: When the Stars Lead to You by Ronni Davis

Title: When the Stars Lead to You
Author: Ronni Davis
Release Date: 11/12/2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 400
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Eighteen-year-old Devon longs for two things.

The stars.
And the boy she fell in love with last summer.

When Ashton breaks Devon’s heart at the end of the most romantic and magical summer ever, she thinks her heart will never heal again. But over the course of the following year, Devon finds herself slowly putting the broken pieces back together.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: When the Stars Lead to You by Ronni Davis”

Waiting on Wednesday: This Was Our Pact by Ryan Andrews

Title: This Was Our Pact
Author: Ryan Andrews
Release Date: 6/11/2019
Publisher: First Second
Pages: 336
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

It’s the night of the annual Autumn Equinox Festival, when the town gathers to float paper lanterns down the river. Legend has it that after drifting out of sight, they’ll soar off to the Milky Way and turn into brilliant stars. This year, Ben and his classmates are determined to find out where those lanterns really go, and they made a pact with two simple rules: No one turns for home. No one looks back.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: This Was Our Pact by Ryan Andrews”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Liar’s Daughter by Megan Cooley Peterson

Title: The Liar’s Daughter
Author: Megan Cooley Peterson
Release Date: 9/10/2019
Publisher: Holiday House
Pages: 304
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Piper was raised in a cult. 
She just doesn’t know it. 

Seventeen-year-old Piper knows that Father is a Prophet. Infallible. The chosen one.

She would do anything for Father. That’s why she takes care of all her little sisters. That’s why she runs end-of-the-world drills. That’s why she never asks questions. Because Father knows best.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Liar’s Daughter by Megan Cooley Peterson”