Waiting on Wednesday: Foul is Fair by Hannah Capin

Title: Foul is Fair
Author: Hannah Capin
Release Date: February 4, 2020
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 336

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Elle and her friends Mads, Jenny, and Summer rule their glittering LA circle. Untouchable, they have the kind of power other girls only dream of. Every party is theirs and the world is at their feet. Until the night of Elle’s sweet sixteen, when they crash a St. Andrew’s Prep party. The night the golden boys choose Elle as their next target.

They picked the wrong girl.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Foul is Fair by Hannah Capin”

Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins

Couple leaning on brick wall

Title: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
Author: Jacqueline Firkins
Release Date: December 17, 2019
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In this charming debut about first love and second chances, a young girl gets caught between the boy next door and a playboy. Perfect for fans of To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before.

Mansfield, Massachusetts is the last place seventeen-year-old Edie Price wants to spend her final summer before college. It’s the home of wealthy suburbanites and prima donnas like Edie’s cousins, who are determined to distract her from her mother’s death with cute boys and Cinderella-style makeovers. Edie has her own plans, and they don’t include a prince charming.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things by Jacqueline Firkins”

Waiting on Wednesday: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand

Title: The How and the Why
Author: Cynthia Hand
Release Date: November 5, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 464

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The How and the Why by Cynthia Hand”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus

Title: The Stars and the Blackness Between Them
Author: Junauda Petrus
Release Date: 9/17/2019
Publisher: Dutton Books
Pages: 320

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus’s bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both.

Trinidad. Sixteen-year-old Audre is despondent, having just found out she’s going to be sent to live in America with her father because her strictly religious mother caught her with her secret girlfriend, the pastor’s daughter. Audre’s grandmother Queenie (a former dancer who drives a white convertible Cadillac and who has a few secrets of her own) tries to reassure her granddaughter that she won’t lose her roots, not even in some place called Minneapolis. “America have dey spirits too, believe me,” she tells Audre.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus”

Waiting on Wednesday: I Hope You Get This Message by Farah Naz Rishi

Title: I Hope You Get This Message
Author: Farah Naz Rishi
Release Date: October 22, 2019
Publisher: HarperTeen
Pages: 432

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Seven days. Seven days. The Earth might end in seven days.

When news stations start reporting that Earth has been contacted by a planet named Alma, the world is abuzz with rumors that the alien entity is giving mankind only few days to live before they hit the kill switch on civilization.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: I Hope You Get This Message by Farah Naz Rishi”

Waiting on Wednesday: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith

Title: How to Speak Boy
Author: Tiana Smith
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 256

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Quinn and Grayson have been fierce speech and debate rivals for years. They can’t stand one another, either in competition or in real life. 

But when their AP Government teacher returns their school assignments to the wrong cubbies, they begin exchanging anonymous notes without knowing who the other is. 

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith”

Waiting on Wednesday: Every Other Weekend by Abigail Johnson

Title: Every Other Weekend
Author: Abigail Johnson
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 432

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

What if your safe place…is a person?

Adam Moynihan’s life used to be awesome. Straight As, close friends and a home life so perfect that it could have been a TV show straight out of the 50s. Then his oldest brother died. Now his fun-loving mom cries constantly, he and his remaining brother can’t talk without fighting, and the father he always admired proved himself a coward by moving out when they needed him most.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Every Other Weekend by Abigail Johnson”