Waiting on Wednesday: The Importance of Being Wilde at Heart by R. Zamora Linmark

Title: The Importance of Being Wilde at Heart
Author: R. Zamora Linmark
Release Date: August 13, 2019
Publisher: Delacorte
Pages: 352

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Readers of Adam Silvera (They Both Die at the End) and Elizabeth Acevedo (The Poet X) will pull out the tissues for this tender, quirky story of one seventeen-year-old boy’s journey through first love and first heartbreak, guided by his personal hero, Oscar Wilde.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Importance of Being Wilde at Heart by R. Zamora Linmark”
Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer

Title: The Speed of Falling Objects
Author: Nancy Richardson Fischer
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the author of When Elephants Fly comes an exceptional new novel about falling down, risking everything and embracing what makes us unique. Don’t miss this compulsively readable novel about the most unlikely of heroes.

Danger “Danny” Danielle Warren is no stranger to falling. After losing an eye in a childhood accident, she had to relearn her perception of movement and space. Now Danny keeps her head down, studies hard, and works to fulfill everyone else’s needs. She’s certain that her mom’s bitterness and her TV star father’s absence are her fault. If only she were more-more athletic, charismatic, attractive-life would be perfect.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer”

Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai

Title: A Match Made in Mehendi
Author: Nandini Bajpai
Release Date: September 10, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole-matchmakers-with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.”

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service-via an app, of course.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai”

Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia

Title: Teen Titans: Raven
Series: Teen Titans
Author: Kami Garcia
Release Date: July 2, 2019
Publisher: DC Ink
Pages: 192

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

When a tragic accident takes the life of seventeen-year-old Raven Roth’s foster mom–and Raven’s memory–she moves to New Orleans to live with her foster mother’s family and finish her senior year of high school.

Starting over isn’t easy. Raven remembers how to solve math equations and make pasta, but she can’t remember her favorite song or who she was before the accident. When strange things start happening–impossible things–Raven starts to think it might be better not to know who she was in her previous life.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Teen Titans – Raven by Kami Garcia”

Waiting on Wednesday: These Divided Shores by Sara Raasch

Title: These Divided Shores
Series: Stream Raiders
Author: Sara Raasch
Release Date: August 27, 2019
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Pages: 560

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The thrilling sequel to These Rebel Waves—full of deadly magic, double crosses, and a revolution—from Sara Raasch, the bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series.

As a child, she committed unforgivable acts to free Grace Loray from King Elazar of Argrid. Now Elazar’s plan to retake the island has surpassed Lu’s darkest fears: he’s holding her and his son, Ben, captive in an endlessly shifting prison, forcing them to make a weapon that will guarantee Elazar’s success. Escape is impossible—unless Lu becomes the ruthless soldier she hoped never to be again.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: These Divided Shores by Sara Raasch”

Waiting on Wednesday: Day Zero by Kelly deVos

Title: Day Zero
Author: Kelly deVos
Release Date: November 12, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Don’t miss the exhilarating new novel from the author of Fat Girl on a Plane , featuring a fierce, bold heroine who will fight for her family and do whatever it takes to survive. Fans of Susan Beth Pfeffer’s Life As We Knew It series and Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will cheer for this fast-paced, near-future thrill ride.

If you’re going through hell…keep going.

Seventeen-year-old coder Jinx Marshall grew up spending weekends drilling with her paranoid dad for a doomsday she’s sure will never come. She’s an expert on self-heating meal rations, Krav Maga and extracting water from a barrel cactus. Now that her parents are divorced, she’s ready to relax. Her big plans include making it to level 99 in her favorite MMORPG and spending the weekend with her new hunky stepbrother, Toby.

But all that disaster training comes in handy when an explosion traps her in a burning building. Stuck leading her headstrong stepsister, MacKenna, and her precocious little brother, Charles, to safety, Jinx gets them out alive only to discover the explosion is part of a pattern of violence erupting all over the country. Even worse, Jinx’s dad stands accused of triggering the chaos.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Day Zero by Kelly deVos”

Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry

Title: Orpheus Girl
Author: Brynne Rebele-Henry
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Soho Teen
Pages: 176
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. 

Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has hidden her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are caught in an intimate moment, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival Raya vows to assume the mythic role of Orpheus to save them both and to return them to the world of the living, at any cost. 

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry”