Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Title: Words in Deep Blue
Author: Cath Crowley
Release Date: June 6, 2017
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 273

Content Warnings: death of a sibling, drowning, alcohol, bullying, assault, depression

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

This is a love story.
It’s the story of Howling Books, where readers write letters to strangers, to lovers, to poets.
It’s the story of Henry Jones and Rachel Sweetie. They were best friends once, before Rachel moved to the sea.
Now, she’s back, working at the bookstore, grieving for her brother Cal and looking for the future in the books people love, and the words they leave behind.

Continue reading “Review: Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley”

Review: Every Other Weekend by Abigail Johnson

Title: Every Other Weekend
Author: Abigail Johnson
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 512

Content Warnings: abuse, sexual assault, death of a sibling, divorce

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Can life begin again…every other weekend?

Adam Moynihan’s life used to be awesome. Straight As, close friends and a home life so perfect that it could have been a TV show straight out of the 50s. Then his oldest brother died. Now his fun-loving mom cries constantly, he and his remaining brother can’t talk without fighting, and the father he always admired proved himself a coward by moving out when they needed him most.

Jolene Timber’s life is nothing like the movies she loves—not the happy ones anyway. As an aspiring director, she should know, because she’s been reimagining her life as a film ever since she was a kid. With her divorced parents at each other’s throats and using her as a pawn, no amount of mental reediting will give her the love she’s starving for.

Continue reading “Review: Every Other Weekend by Abigail Johnson”

Review: Foul Is Fair by Hannah Capin

Title: Foul Is Fair
Author: Hannah Capin
Release Date: February 18, 2020
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: sexual assault, rape, rape culture, gender-based violence, abusive relationship, physical violence, gore, murder, bullying, transphobia, suicide, underage drinking, drug use, vigilantism, revenge

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Elle and her friends Mads, Jenny, and Summer rule their glittering LA circle. Untouchable, they have the kind of power other girls only dream of. Every party is theirs and the world is at their feet. Until the night of Elle’s sweet sixteen, when they crash a St. Andrew’s Prep party. The night the golden boys choose Elle as their next target.

They picked the wrong girl.

Continue reading “Review: Foul Is Fair by Hannah Capin”

Review: What I Want You to See by Catherine Linka

Title: What I Want You to See
Author: Catherine Linka
Release Date: February 4, 2020
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: homelessness, anxiety, panic attacks, PTSD, suicide, hospitals, death of a parent

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Winning a scholarship to California’s most prestigious art school seems like a fairy tale ending to Sabine Reye’s awful senior year. After losing both her mother and her home, Sabine longs for a place where she belongs.

But the cutthroat world of visual arts is nothing like what Sabine had imagined. Colin Krell, the renowned faculty member whom she had hoped would mentor her, seems to take merciless delight in tearing down her best work—and warns her that she’ll lose the merit-based award if she doesn’t improve.

Desperate and humiliated, Sabine doesn’t know where to turn. Then she meets Adam, a grad student who understands better than anyone the pressures of art school. He even helps Sabine get insight on Krell by showing her the modern master’s work in progress, a portrait that’s sold for a million dollars sight unseen.

Continue reading “Review: What I Want You to See by Catherine Linka”

Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith

Title: How to Speak Boy
Author: Tiana Smith
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 256

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Quinn and Grayson have been fierce speech and debate rivals for years. They can’t stand one another, either in competition or in real life.

But when their AP Government teacher returns their school assignments to the wrong cubbies, they begin exchanging anonymous notes without knowing who the other is.

Continue reading “Review: How to Speak Boy by Tiana Smith”

Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!

Title: Furious Thing
Author: Jenny Downham
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Pages: 384

Content Warnings: gaslighting, abuse, bullying, underage drinking, drug use, hospitals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the critically acclaimed author of Before I Die comes a remarkably affecting story of a girl who burns with anger for reasons she can’t understand, and the power and risk that comes with making noise. Fans of E. Lockhart, Jennifer Niven, and Gayle Foreman will find their own fury in this exceptional novel for our times.

Lexi’s angry. And it’s getting worse.

If only she could stop losing her temper and behave herself, her stepfather would accept her, her mom would love her like she used to, and her stepbrother would declare his crushing desire to spend the rest of his life with her. She wants these things so badly, she’s determined to swallow her anger and make her family proud.But pushing fury down doesn’t make it disappear. Instead, it simmers below the surface waiting to erupt . . . And there’ll be fireworks when it does.

Continue reading “Review: Furious Thing by Jenny Downham + Giveaway!”

Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

Title: The Plain Janes
Author/Illustrator: Cecil Castellucci/Jim Rugg
Release Date: January 7, 2020
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 496

Content Warnings: terrorist attacks (bombing, anthrax poisoning), PTSD, anxiety, paranoia, depression, agoraphobia, hospitals, homophobia, bullying, sexism

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Meet the Plain Janes–teenage artist activists on a mission to wake up their sleepy suburban town in this graphic novel bind up, perfect for fans of This One Summer and Awkward.

After getting caught in the midst of a terrorist attack on Metro City, artsy misfit Jane Beckles is forced to leave her beloved bustling metropolis for the boring suburb of Kent Waters. At first Jane thinks her life is over, but then she finds where she belongs: at the reject table in the cafeteria, along with Brain Jayne, Theater Jane, and sporty Polly Jane. United by only two things–a shared name and an all-too-relatable frustration with the adults around them–the girls form a secret club dedicated to waking up their fellow citizens with guerrilla works of art scattered around town.

Continue reading “Review: The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg”