Review: Birthday by Meredith Russo

Title: Birthday
Author: Meredith Russo
Release Date: May 21, 2019
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Pages: 288
Buy it!

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

Content Warnings: death of a parent, talk of cancer, underage drinking, abuse, homophobia, transphobia, suicide attempt

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Boyhood meets The Sun Is Also a Star in this unconventional love story about two teens bonded for life when they are born on the same day at the same time by award-winning author Meredith Russo!

Two kids, Morgan and Eric, are bonded for life after being born on the same day at the same time. We meet them once a year on their shared birthday as they grow and change: as Eric figures out who he is and how he fits into the world, and as Morgan makes the difficult choice to live as her true self. Over the years, they will drift apart, come together, fight, make up, and break up—and ultimately, realize how inextricably they are a part of each other.

Continue reading “Review: Birthday by Meredith Russo”
Advertisements

Mini Review: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1

41559004

Title: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1
Author: Ngozi Ukazu
Release Date: 9/18/2018
Publisher: First Second
Pages: 288
Rating: 4 stars
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Helloooo, Internet Land. Bitty here!

Y’all… I might not be ready for this. I may be a former junior figure skating champion, vlogger extraordinaire, and very talented amateur pâtissier, but being a freshman on the Samwell University hockey team is a whole new challenge. It’s nothing like co-ed club hockey back in Georgia! First of all? There’s checking. And then, there is Jack—our very attractive but moody captain.

Continue reading “Mini Review: Check, Please! #Hockey, Vol. 1”

Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry

Title: Orpheus Girl
Author: Brynne Rebele-Henry
Release Date: October 8, 2019
Publisher: Soho Teen
Pages: 176
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

In her debut novel, award–winning poet Brynne Rebele-Henry re-imagines the epic of Orpheus as a love story between two teen girls in rural Texas. 

Abandoned by a single mother she never knew, 16-year-old Raya—obsessed with ancient myths—lives with her grandmother in a small conservative Texas town. For years Raya has hidden her feelings for her best friend and true love, Sarah. When the two are caught in an intimate moment, they are sent to Friendly Saviors: a re-education camp meant to “fix” them and make them heterosexual. Upon arrival Raya vows to assume the mythic role of Orpheus to save them both and to return them to the world of the living, at any cost. 

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: Orpheus Girl by Brynne Rebele-Henry”

Review: When We Were Lost by Kevin Wignall

Title: When We Were Lost
Author: Kevin Wignall
Release Date: June 4, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
Pages: 320
Buy it!

Trigger Warnings: plane crash, death, violence, suicide

Does the dog die? No!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

When a plane bound for Costa Rica crashes in deep jungle, the tail section breaks free and nineteen teenagers miraculously survive. Joel Aspinall, son of a local politician and student rep on the school’s council, is quick to take on the mantle of leadership, to organize everyone until a rescue party arrives. But the plane was crashed on purpose, no one knows where they are and no rescuers are coming. To make things worse, Joel’s decisions lead to more people dying, and he’s determined to wait it out. 

Continue reading “Review: When We Were Lost by Kevin Wignall”

Spotlight: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen

Welcome to my spot on the Happy Messy Scary Love blog tour! I’ll be sharing with you some information about the book and author, Leah Konen, as well as giving you an opportunity to win a copy!

Title: Happy Messy Scary Love
Author: Leah Konen
Release Date: May 14, 2019
Publisher: Amulet Books
Pages: 272

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

As everyone at her Brooklyn high school announces their summer adventures, Olivia harbors a dirty secret: Her plan is to binge-watch horror movies and chat with her online friend, Elm. Olivia and Elm have never shared personal details, apart from their ages and the fact that Elm’s aunt is a low-budget horror filmmaker. Then Elm pushes Olivia to share her identity and sends her a selfie of his own. Olivia is shocked by how cute he is! In a moment of panic, assuming she and Elm will never meet in real life, she sends a photo of her gorgeous friend Katie. But things are about to get even more complicated when Olivia’s parents send her to the Catskills, and she runs into the one person she never thought she would see. This sweet and funny summertime romance is perfect for fans of Love and Gelato and The Unexpected Everything.

Continue reading “Spotlight: Happy Messy Scary Love by Leah Konen”

Review and Official Playlist: Deposing Nathan by Zack Smedley

Welcome to my stop on the Deposing Nathan blog tour! I am so excited to be sharing this book with all of you today because oh my goodness it’s incredible. Keep reading to see my review and the official playlist put together by the author!

Title: Deposing Nathan
Author: Zack Smedley
Release Date: May 7, 2019
Publisher: Page Street Publishing
Pages: 400
Buy it!

Content Warnings: extreme profanity/offensive language, child abuse, underage drinking, infrequent mentions of marijuana use, physical violence, depiction of suicidal thoughts, sexual content, mentions and depictions of anxiety attacks

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository.

For sixteen years, Nate was the perfect son—the product of a no-nonsense upbringing and deep spiritual faith. Then he met Cam, who pushed him to break rules, dream, and accept himself. Conflicted, Nate began to push back. With each push, the boys became more entangled in each others’ worlds…but they also spiraled closer to their breaking points. And now all of it has fallen apart after a fistfight-turned-near-fatal-incident—one that’s left Nate with a stab wound and Cam in jail.

Now Nate is being ordered to give a statement, under oath, that will send his best friend to prison. The problem is, the real story of what happened between them isn’t as simple as anyone thinks. With all eyes on him, Nate must make his confessions about what led up to that night with Cam…and in doing so, risk tearing both of their lives apart.

Continue reading “Review and Official Playlist: Deposing Nathan by Zack Smedley”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams

Title: The Babysitters Coven
Author: Kate Williams
Release Date: 9/17/2019
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 368
Buy it!

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Adventures in Babysitting meets Buffy the Vampire Slayer in this funny, action-packed novel about a coven of witchy babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save the world from an onslaught of evil. 

Seventeen-year-old Esme Pearl has a babysitters club. She knows it’s kinda lame, but what else is she supposed to do? Get a job? Gross. Besides, Esme likes babysitting, and she’s good at it.

And lately Esme needs all the cash she can get, because it seems like destruction follows her wherever she goes. Let’s just say she owes some people a new tree.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Babysitters Coven by Kate Williams”