Review: The Art of Taxidermy by Sharon Kernot

Title: The Art of Taxidermy
Author: Sharon Kernot
Release Date: August 13, 2019
Publisher: Text Publishing
Pages: 240

Content Warnings: death, war, nazis, dead animals

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made.

Lottie collects dead creatures and lovingly cares for them, hoping to preserve them, to save them from disintegration. Her father understands—Lottie has a scientific mind, he thinks. Her aunt wants it to stop, and she goes to cruel lengths to make sure it does. 

And her mother? Lottie’s mother died long ago. And Lottie is searching for a way to be close to her.

The Art of Taxidermy is a heartbreaking verse novel exploring love and death, grief and beauty, and the ways we try to make sense of it all.

Amazon | Goodreads | Book Depository | Indiebound

Continue reading “Review: The Art of Taxidermy by Sharon Kernot”
Advertisements

Review: These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling

Title: These Witches Don’t Burn
Series: These Witches Don’t Burn
Author: Isabel Sterling
Release Date: May 28, 2019
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 336

Content Warnings: death of a parent, animal death, car accident, relationship violence (emotional), gaslighting, gun violence, arson

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Hannah’s a witch, but not the kind you’re thinking of. She’s the real deal, an Elemental with the power to control fire, earth, water, and air. But even though she lives in Salem, Massachusetts, her magic is a secret she has to keep to herself. If she’s ever caught using it in front of a Reg (read: non-witch), she could lose it. For good. So, Hannah spends most of her time avoiding her ex-girlfriend (and fellow Elemental Witch) Veronica, hanging out with her best friend, and working at the Fly By Night Cauldron selling candles and crystals to tourists, goths, and local Wiccans.

Continue reading “Review: These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling”

Review: Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann

Title: Let’s Talk About Love
Author: Claire Kann
Release Date: January 23, 2018
Publisher: Swoon Reads
Pages: 288

Content Warnings: acephobia, underage drinking

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Alice had her whole summer planned. Nonstop all-you-can-eat buffets while marathoning her favorite TV shows (best friends totally included) with the smallest dash of adulting—working at the library to pay her share of the rent. The only thing missing from her perfect plan? Her girlfriend (who ended things when Alice confessed she’s asexual). Alice is done with dating—no thank you, do not pass go, stick a fork in her, done.

But then Alice meets Takumi and she can’t stop thinking about him or the rom com-grade romance feels she did not ask for (uncertainty, butterflies, and swoons, oh my!).

Continue reading “Review: Let’s Talk About Love by Claire Kann”

Waiting on Wednesday: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer

Title: The Speed of Falling Objects
Author: Nancy Richardson Fischer
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Publisher: Inkyard Press
Pages: 384

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

From the author of When Elephants Fly comes an exceptional new novel about falling down, risking everything and embracing what makes us unique. Don’t miss this compulsively readable novel about the most unlikely of heroes.

Danger “Danny” Danielle Warren is no stranger to falling. After losing an eye in a childhood accident, she had to relearn her perception of movement and space. Now Danny keeps her head down, studies hard, and works to fulfill everyone else’s needs. She’s certain that her mom’s bitterness and her TV star father’s absence are her fault. If only she were more-more athletic, charismatic, attractive-life would be perfect.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: The Speed of Falling Objects by Nancy Richardson Fischer”

Review: Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein

Title: Screen Queens
Author: Lori Goldstein
Release Date: June 11, 2019
Publisher: Razorbill
Pages: 368

Content Warnings: underage drinking, attempted assault, panic attacks

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

The Bold Type meets The Social Network when three girls vying for prestigious summer internships through a startup incubator program uncover the truth about what it means to succeed in the male-dominated world of tech.

This summer Silicon Valley is a girls’ club.

Three thousand applicants. An acceptance rate of two percent. A dream internship for the winning team. ValleyStart is the most prestigious high school tech incubator competition in the country. Lucy Katz, Maddie Li, and Delia Meyer have secured their spots. And they’ve come to win.

Meet the Screen Queens.

Continue reading “Review: Screen Queens by Lori Goldstein”

Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai

Title: A Match Made in Mehendi
Author: Nandini Bajpai
Release Date: September 10, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

Fifteen-year-old Simran “Simi” Sangha comes from a long line of Indian vichole-matchmakers-with a rich history for helping parents find good matches for their grown children. When Simi accidentally sets up her cousin and a soon-to-be lawyer, her family is thrilled that she has the “gift.”

But Simi is an artist, and she doesn’t want to have anything to do with relationships, helicopter parents, and family drama. That is, until she realizes this might be just the thing to improve her and her best friend Noah’s social status. Armed with her family’s ancient guide to finding love, Simi starts a matchmaking service-via an app, of course.

Continue reading “Waiting on Wednesday: A Match Made in Mehendi by Nandini Bajai”

Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith

Title: Something Like Gravity
Author: Amber Smith
Release Date: June 18, 2019
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Pages: 400

Content Warnings: homophobia, transphobia, assault, death of a sibling, panic attacks

Does the dog die? Yes

Don’t have time to read the entire review? That’s okay! Scroll down to the very end for a TL;DR.

This post does contain affiliate links. I will receive a small amount from any purchases made through Book Depository at no extra cost to you.

For fans of Love, Simon and Eleanor and Park, a romantic and sweet novel about a transgender boy who falls in love for the first time—and how first love changes us all—from New York Times bestselling author Amber Smith.

Chris and Maia aren’t off to a great start.

A near-fatal car accident first brings them together, and their next encounters don’t fare much better. Chris’s good intentions backfire. Maia’s temper gets the best of her.

But they’re neighbors, at least for the summer, and despite their best efforts, they just can’t seem to stay away from each other.

Continue reading “Review and Giveaway: Something Like Gravity by Amber Smith”